Problems with 2nd monitor on iMac 27

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Maccie66, Jul 27, 2014.

  1. Maccie66 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    #1
    Hi, I am having problems with my iMac 27 running a 2nd monitor. Just bought a Iiyama ProLite XB2779QS-S1 27" which has a max resolution 2560 x 1440. I connected it using the mini display port (thunderbolt) to HDMI adapter which I already had but the monitor will only display in 1080p (1920 x 1080).

    I googled the problem to find an answer which said I need to connect the monitor using the display port so I purchased the iWantit IMDHDD13 Mini DisplayPort Adapter which is a 3 in 1 adapter and used the display port cable that came with the monitor. The problem I now have is the monitor is detected but is just black. If I make any changes it flashes momentarily and then goes black again.

    If anyone has any ideas they would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. super tomtendo macrumors 6502a

    super tomtendo

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Location:
    Florida
    #2
    HDMI only goes to 1080p. You need DVI to Thunderbolt. I'm not sure about your second part.
     
  3. Maccie66 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    #3
    Thanks for that, the monitor has a display port socket and that does support the 2560 x 1440 but I am using an adapter to connect the mini display port (thunderbolt) to the display port cable from the monitor.

    I think that's where it is going wrong, instead of an adapter I think I need a cable with mini display to display port and not use the adapter. The iMac is recognizing the monitor but it isn't displaying.
     
  4. p3ntyne macrumors 6502

    p3ntyne

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #4
    Not exactly true.

    Every version of HDMI since 1.3 (2006) has been able to run 1440p at 75Hz (at least) - the latest version can even run 4096x2160p at 60Hz. Also, for 1440p over DVI requires an expensive dual link adapter/cable.

    To the OP, your setup should be fine. Are you sure that none of the components are faulty. I'm imagining the original HDMI cable you used was <1.2.
     
  5. Maccie66 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    #5
    The problem wasn't with the HDMI cable (which was 1.3) but with the mini display port to HDMI adapter. It was the same with 3-in-1 adapter that I tried when using the display port cable, I just don't think they're up to the job.. I ordered a 1 piece mini display port to display port cable and that solved the problem.

    Thanks for all your help though.
     
  6. p3ntyne macrumors 6502

    p3ntyne

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #6
    Great! I was thinking something was faulty.

    Glad you got it working.
     

Share This Page