Problems with Azureus

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Aj2488, Mar 25, 2008.

  1. Aj2488 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago Suburbs
    #1
    Hey everyone,

    I recently downloaded Azureus and have been having problems with its connection. The first couple of times I used it it worked great, but ever since then I cant get anything but the darn red smiley. It does not connect anymore, but like I said worked great the first day it was used. Any suggestions on how to fix this problem?

    Thanks!
     
  2. quadgirl macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    #2
    Make sure both the router and Azureus are configured properly. That is you are forwarding the same port number in Azureus as set in your router admin. Azureus does have a NAT test. You should run it if you haven't done so already.
     
  3. Aj2488 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago Suburbs
    #3
    I'm not sure how to go about changing the port numbers or which numbers to pick for that matter. I do know how to access the router admin page though.... sorry, I'm a newb with this.
     
  4. quadgirl macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    #4
    Here's a good set up page: LINK Make sure you also read the updated, follow up page linked at the top of the article.

    Azureus is quite complicated and not really newbie friendly. You could also try Transmission: LINK It's a lot more user friendly.
     
  5. Aj2488 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago Suburbs
    #5
    Thank you so much for your help Quadgirl!! i ended up uninstalling Azureus and goin with Tansmission, it does seem much easier to use! Thanks for your time and help!
     

Share This Page