Problems with Editing Text - Microsoft SharePoint and Moodle

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by BellesHere, Jul 4, 2011.

1. BellesHere macrumors newbie

Hello,

New to mac and I love it but it's not (at least so far) work friendly for me. I am a public school teacher and I also teach online courses. My school system uses Microsoft SharePoint, where I am required to maintain a website (well, such as it is) and that is where our shared documents are stored for web access. We use Microsoft OWA for mail/calendar. I use Moodle for online courses that I teach.

Problems....

Microsoft Sharepoint -
    Problem 1: I cannot add a new web part or bring back a closed web part.
    What happens: I click on Site Actions, then Edit Page, then Add a Web Part.
    At this point, the desired pop up appears but when I click any option, nothing happens.

Problem 2 - No text editing tools will appear when I try to edit a visible web part.
    What Happens: I click the arrow to edit (oddly enough the word EDIT does not appear next to the arrow as it does in Explorer). The text box appears but no tools for Rich Text Editing. (correct terminology?) I have to enter everything in HTML.

Moodle -
    Problem 3 - No text editing tools - same as described above.

I was excited when I opened this new thread to see the editing tools but quickly discovered that using them adds the HTML code to my post. Now, I'm guessing that Safari doesn't support Rich Text Editing??? Is this an add-on or something that can get to work with Safari?

Microsoft Exchange OWA -
    Problem 4 - I can only view the "light" version which limits functions that I need access to.

I know that I can download Firefox but I really don't want to do that, if possible. I have so much time invested in Safari with my bookmark tabs and such. Also, FF only supports the light version of OWA.

Running Windows and OS X would be way beyond my capabilities or desire. I couldn't take the switching back and forth.