Problems with growl?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by hammie14, Jul 21, 2011.

  1. hammie14 macrumors regular

    hammie14

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    I did a clean install of lion and have installed growl but its not working with Adium like it did in SL.

    I have setup the setting in Adium so when a member comes online it displays a growl notice.

    But when I access growl settings Adium is not on the App list and no notices, i have restarted OSX and still nothing?

    Is Growl working with Lion?
     
  2. d3ath macrumors newbie

    d3ath

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Location:
    Windsor, Canada
    #2
    I have the same problem. Growl doesn't work for the twitter app anymore or anything else.
     
  3. boylerman macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #3
    Growl is working with Skype - seems to work the same as under Snow Leopard.
     
  4. kirky29 macrumors 65816

    kirky29

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, England
    #4
    Oh really? Did you have to do anything? Growl isn't working for Skype (or anything) with my installation.
     
  5. Orlandoech macrumors 68040

    Orlandoech

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #5
    Growl is working for FF downloads and Transmit 4 for me, havent tried Adium but i will shortly.
     
  6. bushido Suspended

    bushido

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    Germany
    #6
    works on adium for me even tho it doesnt show in the growl settings
     
  7. Partron22 macrumors 68000

    Partron22

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Location:
    Yes
    #7
    Growl is working fine for me, but it's at the TOP of my login Items list (under Users & Groups).
    The app at the bottom of that list, "FastScripts" is not launching at login as it should.

    ->Prefs file may be buggy.
     
  8. hammie14 thread starter macrumors regular

    hammie14

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Location:
    London, UK
    #8
    Did you update SL or do a clean install?

    Fine its only a problem on my MBP with a clean lion install!

    Upgrade on my macbook works fine :S
     
  9. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #9
    Growl is working in Adium and Skype for me, upgrade install.
     
  10. Partron22 macrumors 68000

    Partron22

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Location:
    Yes
    #10
    Resolved my issue with FastScripts in a way that may be relevent to those having trouble with Growl:

    •Open Users and Groups Control Panel
    •Add an App to Login items
    •Close prefs.
    •Log out and in through Apple menu
    -> the newly added App does NOT run.

    However, if I uncheck the "Reopen Windows When Logging Back In" checkbox in the logout dialog, and then log back in the App will run.
    It continues to run on each login hence, even without messing with the "Reopen..." checkbox.

    It seems that the "Reopen Windows When Logging Back In" feature preserves the status of login Apps between log ins. So installing a login item now requires an extra step compared to how it worked in Snow Leopard.
     
  11. Grolubao macrumors 65816

    Grolubao

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #11
    Adium now finally appears in growl after I restarted without the checkbox to resume the apps.

    Thanks for the tips!
     

Share This Page