Problems with OS X Yosemite 10.10

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by ratchyb, Nov 2, 2014.

  1. ratchyb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    #1
    OK so here the sum up

    i updated to the new OS X last week and ever since my Mac has been Playing up
    it keeps playing a song every 15 mins and i got no way of stopping i spoke with apple they told me to delete spotfy did that no joy deleted the song from my mac yet it still playing every 15 mins got no way of stopping it can anyone help me it only dose it since i updated to Yosemite

    it's not spotfy that up to date
     
  2. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #2
    Is it always the same song?
    What song is it?

    (Sorry - had to ask :D )

    You could open your Activity Monitor, where you may be able to see what triggers a song.... The CPU tab would likely be the most helpful here...
     
  3. ratchyb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    #3
    it's bell of belfast city look at all that nothing triggering it
     
  4. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #4
    Nice song! Yer Irish, then?

    You can look in your Time & Date pref pane to make sure that's not set to announce the time...

    Check in your Console - the system log - which is listed by date and time. If the song comes on exactly at 15 minute mark, you can see what activity is logged beginning at that time.

    If you have not ever played that song, or had software where that might be a part - then you likely have had some joker friend of yours that's done that for you as a joke (unless you really don't like that song - and your friend knows it :D )
    Then, it's most likely that someone else has been at your Mac...
     
  5. Wolwerine macrumors regular

    Wolwerine

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    Location:
    France
    #5
    Hi, cyberMacLovers,,
    I got a "new" ( for me ) MacBook,, is MB Aluminium Late 2008,
    Intel Duo 2 Core 2GHz / 4Go RAM 1067MHz / Graphics NVIDIA Geforce 9400M 256MB
    Well, first i installed Lion, ( screenshot ) all things worked,,then, i get connected to apple store, to my acompte and i get Yosemite,,i've installed,,
    Almost everything run's correctly,,well, even knowing wifi kexts are load,,i can't get wifi active,,don't work,,and with Lion works,,
    apple acompte, tell's me "wrong password or identification ",,,impossible to connect,,
    Anyone with tips to solve this?
    First time i got issues like this with Yosemite,,
    screenshots below,,`Thanks in advance
     

    Attached Files:

  6. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #6
    Your wifi is turned off.
    In Réseau, Click the button "Activer le Wi-fi"

    If that doesn't work, and the Wi-fi won't turn on…
    Click on Configuration, then add a new location (Configuration) to the list. Set up the networks as you want them. The last step will be the Apply button
     
  7. Wolwerine macrumors regular

    Wolwerine

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    Location:
    France
    #7
    ok, thanks for the answer, but, in fact, i think it was the update 10.10.4,, i should have done 1 reboot my mac, and i didn't, all things work fine, no issues at all,,now i'm gonna try El Capitan Beta,,
    Great this MacBook Aluminium,, the battery is almost new,,,
     

    Attached Files:

  8. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #8
    ?
    Your chart shows that the battery is over 4 years old, and has 832 charge cycles. Not exactly what I would call "almost new". The internal battery is rated for 500 charge cycles, so it would not be surprising to see it suddenly drop in capacity.

    Just a suggestion or two :D - 4GB of RAM is OK, but your MacBook can be upgraded to 8GB.
    And, replacing the HDD with an SSD will make it feel as fast as a new system.
     
  9. Wolwerine macrumors regular

    Wolwerine

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    Location:
    France
    #9
    No kidding?
    thanks a lot,,gone do the Ram Upgrade, should be a flash,,and SSD,,thanks,,i mean battery new, cause i can use my mac,,regular use for more than 4,5 hours, and is kind of old, battery is from Apple store, as you said 4,1 years, but not bad, i've seen worst, i've pay 200 Euros for this MacBook,,nice deal,,;)
     

Share This Page