Problems with Western Digital My Passport

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by wellsws, Mar 26, 2011.

  1. wellsws macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    #1
    I got a WD My Passport a while back and just can't get it to work right. Ideally, I'd love to strip all the software out of it and just use it as a back up hard drive but I think it's in the firmware? Anyway, the 2 problems I'm having with it are:

    1- When I set up the backup through WD SmartWare it always fails because it says the hard drive is full. But it's not. It far from being full. I can't figure that out. It's 500GB but only backing up around 300GB (mostly music and pictures).

    2- If I try to drag a drop a folder to the hard drive I get the error "The operation can’t be completed because an unexpected error occurred (error code 0)."

    It's basically useless as is. Does anyone have any suggestions other than using it as a paperweight? Any help would be great! Thanks in advance.
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    Is it out of warranty? I'd just try to exchange it for a new one.
     
  3. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
  4. SandboxGeneral, Mar 26, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2011

    SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #4
    Dump the WD SmartWare software and let OS/X manage the HDD with Time Machine. Their software is clunky at best, as you are experiencing. Make sure to back up your data somewhere else, and run Disk Utility on it, erasing all of it and then let OS/X take over. It should be smooth sailing from there.
     
  5. wellsws thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    #5
    Thanks for the replies. I just reformatted using Disk Utility to MS-DOS (FAT) (I want to use it on PCs too). I can drag a drop individual files but if I try to drag the iTunes folder, for example, I keep getting that error I mentioned in my original post. That's what's really bugging me. I can't just grab a folder and copy it.
     
  6. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #6
    Is it specifically the iTunes folder that you can't move, or is it any folder that won't move?
     
  7. wellsws thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    #7
    Strangely enough, it's the itunes folder, movies folder and my "documents" folder. I was able to copy pictures and some other folders. I don't have itunes open.
     
  8. eusebietz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    #8
    Maybe I was lucky

    I was having the same problem as everyone here, but accidentally i put my hard drive upside-down and leave it like that, suddenly my Mac recognized the hard drive
     
  9. Ifti macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Remember FAT32 has a 4GB file size limit. Do any of the folders you are backing up contain files over 4GB in size?
     

Share This Page