Problems with win 7 install on 3.1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Varmann, Dec 21, 2011.

  1. Varmann, Dec 21, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2011

    Varmann macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    #1
    I have decided to install Win 7 on a separate internal SSD (intel X25), but so far I have not been successful.

    I have tested this:

    * Format SSD as NTFS, Insert Win 7 (home edition, full), option-reboot, choose Win 7 DVD. (Blu-ray drive, at logic board SATA)
    - "No bootable device" message

    * Erase SSD, Start boot camp assistants (follow instructions) , Insert Win7 DVD (home edition, full). (Blu-ray drive, at logic board SATA)
    - "No bootable device" message

    Edit: I use 10.7.2

    * Format SSD as NTFS, Insert Win 7 (Ulimate edition, 64bit, full), option-reboot, choose Win 7 DVD. (Blu-ray drive, at logic board SATA)
    - "No bootable device" message

    * Erase SSD, Start boot camp assistants (follow instructions) , Insert Win7 DVD (Ultimate, full, 64bit ). (Blu-ray drive, at logic board SATA)
    - "No bootable device" message

    * Erase SSD, Start boot camp assistants (follow instructions) , Insert Win7 DVD (Ultimate, full, 32bit ). (Blu-ray drive, at logic board SATA)
    - "No bootable device" message

    Redo last three attempts but with reinstalled original Apple DVD at IDE port.
    Same result.

    Used the Win 7 DVD (Ultimate, full, 64bit) to install a VM under VMware 4. No problem.

    Why can't get it to install for a dual-boot option? Any ideas?
     
  2. initialsBB macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    #2
    Did you try formatting the SSD to HFS+ (Mac OS extended journaled + GUID partition) before running Bootcamp Assistant and letting it create the partition (which you can set up to take the whole drive)? It's not clear from your post, it seems you have formatted to NTFS each time.
     
  3. Varmann thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    #3
    Sorry for being unclear.
    Yes, before using bootcamp I erased the NTFS and formatted it as one partition HFS+.

    So I have tried a total 3 different Win 7 DVD's, 2 different dvd drives at different ports. Two different methods, with and without boot camp. And some combinations of these.

    VMware 4 worked like a charm. so I am a bit confused.
     
  4. wafl iron macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    #4
    i dont know if they fixed this but, i remember having to pull out ALL harddrives from the system that i was not going to install to before i could install win7 successfully on my 3,1
     
  5. cutterman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
  6. Varmann thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    #6
    I tried my old SL dvd, it seemed to boot nicely and went through most of the sequence, though hanged in the end, maybe due to the fact I have Lion installed on my main disk?

    ----------

    Sounds like a big hassle (I have well over 30 disks attached, 9 of them internal). I guess I wait a while then ;-)
     
  7. cutterman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    #7
    Maybe this is one of those situations where resetting pram/nvram will actually help.
     

Share This Page