Problems with wireless on PS3

Discussion in 'Console Games' started by gadgetgirl85, Feb 17, 2008.

  1. gadgetgirl85 macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #1
    I am having a lot of issues with wireless on PS3. I have a netgear rangemax and for some reason it will only work if I disable wep. Have tried shortening the key to 10 (minimum I can do) and still wont work. Any advice?
     
  2. 2nyRiggz macrumors 603

    2nyRiggz

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Location:
    Thank you Jah...I'm so Blessed
    #2
  3. Much Ado macrumors 68000

    Much Ado

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Something similar happened to me with a NETGEAR. This was my workaround:

    -> Disable WEP temporarily
    -> Download the latest PS3 update
    -> Re-Enable WEP, and voila!

    At least that's how it was for me. You gotta download from the internet before you can connect to the internet ;)
     
  4. gadgetgirl85 thread starter macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #4
    I'm pretty sure I have all the PS3 updates but it still doesn't work. Not sure how to do port forwarding :(
     
  5. risc macrumors 68030

    risc

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #5
    As mentioned above you need to enabled UPnP port forwarding if your router supports it.

    If your router doesn't support UPnP you need to either manually trigger or forward the ports for the PSN/games _or_ you can give your PS3 a static IP and use that IP as a DMZ (once again if your router supports it).

    I've just checked your router out online and it does support DMZs this would be the quickest and easiest option for you. You just need to set the DMZ IP address on your router. When you re-do the network settings for the PS3 you need to do manual (or is it advanced?) setup. Give it this IP address, fill in all other details manually and you should be good to go.
     
  6. gadgetgirl85 thread starter macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #6
    That sounds good to me but I have no idea how to do this :( I know how to access my router but thats about it
     
  7. gadgetgirl85 thread starter macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #7
  8. risc macrumors 68030

    risc

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #8
    Viccles; did you manage to get this fixed after our chatting on MSN?
     

Share This Page