Processor Question for PowerBook 1400c

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by rudedude, Jan 7, 2012.

  1. rudedude macrumors newbie

    rudedude

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    #1
    I just bought a PowerBook 1400c at an estate sale today and when I booted up I saw that it has the slower 117mhz processor. I was wondering if there was some way that I could upgrade to the faster 166mhz processor, the unit is in a perfect state. It even came with a free Ready to Read with Pooh CD! :D
     
  2. dmr727 macrumors G3

    dmr727

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #2
    IIRC, only the 133 dropped in - I don't think the 166 MHz processor will work. That said, there were a variety of G3 upgrades made for your machine.
     
  3. rudedude thread starter macrumors newbie

    rudedude

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    #3
    This probably will be the same thing but if I were to buy a new logic board for the machine would I be able to then upgrade to the faster processor?
     
  4. chrismacguy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #4
    If you bought a logic board from a 1400c/166 then yes you could, but the speed increase isn't worth it in my opinion. Id just upgrade it to a 133.
     
  5. MacTech68 macrumors 68000

    MacTech68

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #5
    My recollection of the PB1400 when it was current that it was quite a slow machine.

    Additional RAM was the way to improve things (if only slightly), or a G3 CPU which were pretty expensive at the time.

    Memory for the 1400 is a bit of an oddball. There is a "factory" RAM socket and a "user" RAM socket.

    The "user" RAM socket can actually have 2 RAM cards fitted, but depending on the combination of modules, you'll either hit the maximum RAM or the machine won't function. (See also http://support.apple.com/kb/TA36087?viewlocale=en_US)

    The only combinationd that gave the maximum of 64MB was (with 8MB on the logic board):

    8MB in the factory slot
    and
    two stackable 24M modules in the "user" slot

    OR:

    8MB in the factory slot
    and
    one 48MB module in the "user" slot.

    The problem we continually struck was customers who had previously purchased a 32MB module wanting to go to 64MB. Sadly, they had to replace their expensive 32MB module since it wasn't usable in ANY combination to get to the magic 64MB. :mad:

    NewerTech's old "Guru v2.9" is a handy tool for determining what RAM works with many older Mac models

    Also, some of the "user" modules weren't stackable. :eek:

    iFixIt has a nice guide for accessing the RAM.
     

Share This Page