Processor speed / SSD help

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by NewPC2MacMan, Jun 23, 2008.

  1. NewPC2MacMan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    #1
    Hi can someone quickly tell me how to check the processor speed of a macbook air. Basically i want to know if it is a 1.6 or 1.8.

    Also how would i be able to tell if it is a SSD or regular HDD.

    Thanks
     
  2. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #2
    Apple menu, about this Mac will tell you processor speed. More info from there or "Get Info" on Macintosh HD in finder will tell you the capacity from where you will know if it's SSD or HDD
     
  3. Clix Pix macrumors demi-goddess

    Clix Pix

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    8 miles from the Apple Store at Tysons (VA)
    #3
    Didn't you know what you were buying?
     
  4. Fonzijr1964 macrumors 68000

    Fonzijr1964

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    #4
    how do u know know what was in it
     
  5. Clix Pix macrumors demi-goddess

    Clix Pix

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    8 miles from the Apple Store at Tysons (VA)
    #5
    Um....well..... when I bought my MBA new at the Apple store I knew that I was specifying that I wanted to purchase a MacBook Air that had the SSD HD with 64 GB and 2 GB RAM. The sales associate brought the box out and it listed the specs on the outside. When I got home and opened it and got the machine up and running yes, I indeed verified that by checking "About This Mac." I also checked the HD capacity before I then removed the OS and reinstalled it.

    Apologies here: I have to admit that when I first responded I wasn't thinking that the original poster might be in the process of buying a gently-used MBA from a private party or maybe as a refurb from Apple and of course would want to check and verify the specs on the machine and if he/she is a newcomer/switcher to Mac might not know how to do that.
     
  6. Fonzijr1964 macrumors 68000

    Fonzijr1964

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    #6
    i was typing fast i meant to say "not know" sorry
     
  7. dudup macrumors regular

    dudup

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    São Paulo, Brazil
  8. Heavenkittykat macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    #8
    It really amuse me that you don't know the model you are buying. Or maybe somebody gave it to you as a gift?
     
  9. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
  10. CaptainCaveMann macrumors 68000

    CaptainCaveMann

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
  11. NewPC2MacMan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    #11
    Thanks for your help guys.

    Basically I purchased a slighty used MBA. It was sold as an 1.8 model with 64SSD. I panicked a bit when the box said 1.6 and 80Gig. Being completely new to Mac i didnt know how to check. Anyway it has now checked out fine.
     
  12. Heavenkittykat macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    #12
    Ok that makes sense. However, it should have been on the right box. Well I hope your new machine is working nicely for you
     

Share This Page