Processor upgrading in iMacs.

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Quad 2.5 G5 =), Jan 27, 2010.

  1. Quad 2.5 G5 =) macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    #1
    Since the new iMacs have socketable processors, is it possible for someone to pop a, for example, a Q9650 LGA775 processor into the C2D iMacs, if one wanted to?
     
  2. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #2
    everything fits in the socket as long as its a LGA 775 processor and intel ,so you could even fit a celeron d inside if you get forced to, the only thing that might happen is that in the "about this mac" info the processor is shown as unknown processor .2.4 ghz depending on the processor used the ghz may vary
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    AFAIK, you can stick in any LGA 775 CPU if you want. That means all Core 2 Duos and Quads etc. As MacHamster68 said, it might shown as "unknown", but it's very unlikely that there would be problems with drivers etc, but I haven't that this has been done before so you would be a tester. In addition, make sure to check the TDP of the CPU if you're going to change it so your iMac won't overheat (I would prefer to xxxxS series. They are more expensive but runs cooler)
     
  4. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #4
    No. There are no quad core CPUs that will work in the C2D iMac.
     
  5. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    Why? Core 2 Quads use LGA 775
     
  6. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #6
    i think thats the only thing realy to take in consideration when planning to upgrade the cpu , as others already have "complained "how hot their iMac already gets

    but casemodding would be a answer to that , more efficient fans and maybe a second or wider opening at the exit
    as a faster processor is producing more heat which needs to get away from the inside
     
  7. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #7
    Search. Many have tried it, none have succeeded.
     
  8. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #8
    It is my understanding that this has been tried with a C2Q and found not to work. I don't know why and it should since socket and TDP were both fine.
     
  9. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #9
    I trust you :cool: You know a lot about technology and I've seen very good posts from you so... It's sad that they don't work though :(
     
  10. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #10
    it should work , only thing would be that its somehow limited in the firmware
     
  11. All Taken macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    I was going to attempt this in my 21.5" iMac, I planned to test a quad core processor, however, I know for instance that the Q9550 will not work as the processor has to high a TDP. The iMac will boot to the grey screen and nothing more. My theory is that a Q9550s with it's lower TDP would work.
     
  12. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #12
    The TDP has nothing to do with booting. The firmware doesn't just support it so it can't get past the white loading screen.
     
  13. All Taken macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    Q9550 is 95w and 9550s is 65w. That could well be why the Q9550 will not "boot" beyond the grey screen. I think the EFI is fine.
     
  14. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #14
    The TDP is just the amount of electricity it uses. Only issue that the TDP might cause is that the power supply isn't powerful enough to power it but I doubt it's causing this problem. There is something different in C2Q than in C2D so it won't work.
     
  15. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #15
    And the minute you change the CPU, that's the end of your warranty.
     
  16. All Taken macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    How do you know the EFI is not allowing the iMac to boot because of a voltage issue?

    It is reasonable to assume the Q9550S with it's lower power requirement will work.

    "There is something different in C2Q than in C2D so it won't work."

    I agree, that difference is that the power requirements differ. A Q9550S is widely speculated to work. Until somebody tries it then I think we have to agree to disagree.
     
  17. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #17
    i dont think the power is the problem the psu has enough power to allow the quad , its the firmware thats stopping
    the whole process
    the mac is still a simple computer and the firmware is in theory nothing else as the bios in a pc , and in the bios you can restrict a lot of things
    maybe it is the heat , so apple did take the ability to upgrade in consideration and to make sure it does not overheat they restricted the choice of processors

    that would give them the chance to offer the faster quad later as a option by simply doing a firmware update

    the other thing to remember is they want to sell the macpro's too , if they offer every upgradepossibility for the iMac why would anybody buy a macpro then..at least in the 27" would be enough room for a dual processor board

    so i guess apple is well aware on what they are offering as upgrade possibilities and they can control it via the firmware (warranty or not)
     
  18. All Taken macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #18
    I agree that the PSU is capable, the EFI on the other hand may enumerate a rule that states "Processor = 65w". Apple would not have purposefully limited the processor inside the iMac as a consumer would void any warranty in removing the heat sink anyway so why would they bother?

    The 65w restriction on the processor seems the most likely so again a Q9550S should work. I also feel the need to add that Apple will not be offering a Core 2 quad option in future. (that's your theory of a firmware update thrown out) The reason being that they already have quad core iMacs.
     
  19. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #19
    Explain me why the i7 iMac has 95W CPU inside and it runs the same firmware
     
  20. All Taken macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #20
    They run the same EFI? I was always under the impression the i5/i7 used a different logic board to that of the Core 2 duo models. The two would need different EFI sets as they are different hardware.

    Got any proof they are the same?
     
  21. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #21
    Hmm, you're right. They do use different logic boards as i5/i7 requires LGA 1156 while C2D requires LGA 775 and likely a different EFI as well. But it still doesn't make sense that there would be TDP limit (at least I've never heard that it's even possible). More likely Apple has just "somehow" disabled them in firmware or in OS X so that they cannot be used so people can't make their own quad core iMacs but are forced to buy Apple's. You could be right but the TDP limit sounds weird and you have nothing to prove it
     
  22. Quad 2.5 G5 =) thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    #22
    They obviously are different logic boards, as the C2D/C2Q series work with the LGA775 socket, and the i-series uses the LGA1156. This works out to :apple:'s advantage, as when they refresh the iMacs with the dual core i3/i5 series, so they can just drop the C2D boards, and replace them with said models. The only thing they have to re-do is the 21.5 inch models, as they don't come with any i5/i7 models.
     
  23. All Taken macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #23
    I agree with all of that and would like to say thank you for giving me some interesting reading on these forums for a change.
     
  24. All Taken macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #24
    TBH I thought it was that obvious it didn't need explanation. Different architecture - different sockets.
     
  25. Quad 2.5 G5 =) thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    #25
    Also, I recall when, before the 9400M Minis, one could upgrade the C2D processor in it, to something with a bit more power, and with the Mac Pros, they can get upgraded, so it must be something else.
     

Share This Page