Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Ledgem

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Jan 18, 2008
Hawaii, USA
This question isn't only for people in healthcare, or who use their iPads professionally, but those are the cases I'd be extremely interested in hearing from. I've been out of the iPad scene for the past 2-3 years and am trying to figure out what's changed; what's now possible (or impossible); and what's worth getting.

I work in healthcare. When I worked in a hospital setting I used an iPad - first a mini, and then when it stopped receiving updates, an iPad Pro 9.7" with the first-generation Apple Pencil. It was used heavily, for a combination of things: paper replacement (writing notes from patient encounters that would then be transcribed into the electronic health record); reference (medical information and literature, articles); team communications; and occasionally, giving Keynote presentations. It worked beautifully for this use case, and with an Otterbox Defender case and a case from Ztylus for the Apple Pencil that also added a clip, the devices could also withstand alcohol and bleach-based wipes to keep them sanitary.

Work changed about three years ago, and I stopped using my iPad, but I'm set to return to the way things were before and I'll be using an iPad in my workflow regularly again. I worry that the performance and the battery of my old, trusty 9.7" A9X iPad Pro may not hold up as well as I remember, given new software demands and the impact of age (and disuse) on the batteries of the iPad and Pencil. The new iPads also have FaceID, which - if it can also use the Apple Watch to unlock similar to what the iPhones can do (I'm guessing not, though, since the Watch does not pair to the iPad) - would be perfect, since there were a fair number of times that my hands were in gloves, or wet from washing, and TouchID was unusable.