Programmable Mouse for Copy & Past

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by kenjiuokawa, Apr 9, 2018.

  1. kenjiuokawa macrumors newbie

    kenjiuokawa

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    Please recommend me a mouse which I can assign COPY, PAST shortcuts in separate buttons.
    I wish I can copy & past without keyboard nor mouse popup menu.
     
  2. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #2
    Why would you need to program a mouse button for a function that you can already do through the right-click contextual menu?
    I see that you did mention the "mouse popup menu", but right-click, with the contextual menu is your go-to for that kind of operation.
    When you select text, right click, and choose copy. Click on your desired destination location, and right-click again, choosing paste. There are other choices available through the right-click contextual menu, rather than limiting a button on your mouse to a single function. That might have been a good choice when the operating systems were relatively limiting already, years ago. But, make use of what the Finder provides for you.
     
  3. kenjiuokawa, Apr 9, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2018

    kenjiuokawa thread starter macrumors newbie

    kenjiuokawa

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Location:
    New York
    #3
    Thank you for your advice.

    Because of the nature of my work, I have to do copy and past too many times a day.

    I tried to use the right-click contextual menu before.
    I felt click right button, then choose “copy” in the contextual menu is a bit hassle.
    (I do not mind to use the contextual menu if I use this function less often.)
    After experimenting for a while, I decided to use a keyboard command + C.

    Many years ago, I had a mouse with four programmable buttons.
    It made possible to command copy, paste, cut, delete, enter by clicking a single button or simultaneously click two buttons.
    It made my job a bit easier.

    However, the mouse is no longer compatible with the new Macs.
     
  4. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #4
    I think that Steermouse will do your custom buttons, on any mouse of your choice.
    Buy a mouse that you like, with multiple buttons, whatever. Could be wired, or wireless. Steermouse is the mouse driver to use to set it up like you want.
    You can try out Steermouse for free, for 30 days.
     
  5. kenjiuokawa thread starter macrumors newbie

    kenjiuokawa

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Location:
    New York
    #5
    Thank you again for your reply.

    I wish I would ask you more earlier.
    I just returned a Logitech mouse few days ago, because it did not let’s me choose “copy” command from the set up menu.
    I totally forgot about the Steermouse.
    I got that utility app many years ago and totally forgot about it.

    If I do not find a mouse which natively support the function I want, I will follow your advice.

    Thank you again.
     
  6. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #6
    OP wrote:
    "However, the mouse is no longer compatible with the new Macs."

    Use either:
    - USB Overdrive
    - SteerMouse

    With these, you can use ANY mouse with the Mac and assign functions to any button as you wish.
     
  7. kenjiuokawa thread starter macrumors newbie

    kenjiuokawa

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Location:
    New York
    #7
    Fishrrman,

    Thank you for your advice.

    I purchased the SteerMouse old version in many years ago and I forgot about it.

    Now I am contacting them to recover my old registration code for an upgrade to SteerMousever. 5.
     
  8. MIKX macrumors 6502a

    MIKX

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #8
    In Mavericsk I installed Microsoft'sdriver for an Intellimouse and thereby lost my ability to re-name Bluetooth devices.

    This was bad as I have three indentical ( same colour too ! ) BT headsets and need to attach stickers .. = A. B. C headset. and then rename them appropriately. I teach English in Japan using Skype.
     
  9. kenjiuokawa thread starter macrumors newbie

    kenjiuokawa

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Location:
    New York
    #9
    MIKX,

    It sounds like a driver complication nightmare.
    I wish someday we have one unified driver standard for each type of device.

    => Microsoft's driver for an Intellimouse and thereby lost my ability to re-name Bluetooth devices.
    This was bad as I have three identical ( same color too ! ) BT headsets and need to attach stickers .. = A. B. C
    headset. and then rename them appropriately.


    I was born in Tokyo and came to USA in 1984.
    I still need to learn English. (^^ゞ

    => I teach English in Japan using Skype
     

Share This Page