Programs running slow...

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by mavericks7913, May 26, 2017.

  1. mavericks7913 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Location:
    NY
    #1
    Im using Mac Pro with dual 3.46 quad core CPU, 32gb RAM, 256gb M.2 SSD, gtx 1060 6gb, and Mac Pro 2010. I use Capture one, Lightroom, and Photoshop.

    I bought all of these with cheap prices and Im very satisfying with it. But I still feel that it doesn't run that fast and since Im getting A7rii soon, Im really worried about this.

    It seems that recent PC or iMac perform much better than Mac Pro that I have. Will it be better to get a new computer soon?
     
  2. kenoh macrumors demi-god

    kenoh

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #2
    Don't worry, I shoot an A7Rii and I was happily editing my images on a Surface Pro 3 and a 2009 Macbook Pro until recently. I am now on a HP Z1 with 24GB RAM on an Intel Zeon 3.5Ghz quad core hyperthreaded (8vcpus). So less spec than your mac pro and this is fine. No stutters, real time edit effects...

    You should be fine unless you are working with 20-30 layers at a time in which case it takes a half minute or so to chew through them (tested on a 20 layer exposure blend to simulate a long exposure). I think it comes down to LR and maybe PS not being completely optimised for multi CPU support. This might no longer be correct mind you but last time I read about it I thought it was still a concern that it doesnt really make use of the full power of your machine yet. Bottom line. I edit A7Rii images and I dont get peeved at performance. Hope this puts your mind at rest
     
  3. dwig macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Location:
    Key West FL
    #3
    Your listed gear is totally inadequate for any real photographic work, especially with images from an A7rii and others of that ilk. Perhaps you've forgotten to tell us what you are using as storage and backup drives. An internal 256gb drive, by itself, is totally inadequate for the large files you will be encountering.

    You'll need at least 2 large (read: ~4tb or larger) external drives, one for primary image storage and one for backup (e.g. TimeMachine, ...). The speed of these, both of the drives themselves and the interface used (e.g. USB3, Thunderbolt, ...), is critical to getting good performance. A 3rd external drive, used as a separate backup that is stored separately from the in-use drives, is highly recommended as well.
     
  4. kenoh macrumors demi-god

    kenoh

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #4
    Storage wise yes good point. I use a gigabit connected NAS device but from experience, CPU, RAM not an issue.
     
  5. mavericks7913 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Location:
    NY
    #5
    Storage shouldn't be a problem. I don't store all images on Mac Pro at all. I have extra external HDD to store all of them.
     

Share This Page