Progress bar during boot on a 2006 MP?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by dusanv, Nov 27, 2011.

  1. dusanv macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    #1
    I just rebooted from Windows and got a progress bar under the Apple icon during bootup. Like an EFI update. Except this is a MP 1,1 and there are no new EFI updates. It took a couple of minutes to complete and then the machine continued to boot (didn't reboot like it would after an EFI update).

    Does anyone know what would cause this?
     
  2. G4DP macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #2
    It would have been booting into Safe mode. If I recall correctly. Nothing to worry about.
     
  3. The-Pro macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #3
    Safe mode. So any 3rd party launch deamons on stuff like that wont have launched like usual on startup (if you have any installed), in order to prevent a possible system crash.
    You must've accidentally pressed shift on start up. Just reboot it again.
     
  4. dusanv thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
  5. nambuccaheadsau macrumors 6502a

    nambuccaheadsau

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Location:
    Nambucca Heads Australia
    #5
    Trust the posters are correct.

    Just saw that progress bar for the very first time during boot, and that is with four years use of my Quad Core Mac Pro. Guess what? The Kingston SSD was belly up so I trust yours are not related.
     
  6. dusanv, Nov 28, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2011

    dusanv thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    #6
    Oddly, I got a Kingston SSD in my MP also. But it's been there for 6 months now, no problems.

    edit: I got another Kingston SSD in my MBP and that did go belly up just 2 weeks ago. Now you got me wondering whether this one in the MP is about to do the same.
     
  7. nambuccaheadsau macrumors 6502a

    nambuccaheadsau

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Location:
    Nambucca Heads Australia
    #7
    How did you install the Kingston in the Mac Pro? if you used an Icey Dock, take it out and open up the slide. See how well the drive is fitted to the connectors. Have best results with firmly sliding the drive into the connectors, make sure it is tight, and then shut the Icey Dock.

    My Kingston did a Lazarus after re-seating in the Icey Dock.
     
  8. sevoneone macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    #8
    The progress bar can also indicate other things than a Safe Boot, such as a problem with your Boot Drive that has cause the system to automatically run a check of the file system.

    You may want to run disk utility to check out your drive and repair permissions just to be sure.
     
  9. dusanv thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    #9
    I couldn't wait for the dock to get here so I taped it up with some sponge above it. After I saw I had no problems with the tape job, I never bothered with the dock.

    Yes, the filesystem on the Kingston SSD had problems but it was repaired (minor bitmap problem, Disk Utility reported). Thanks for your suggestions...

    I've had rotational media disks for ever and I don't remember the last time I was having filesystem problems on OS X or Linux. Since I got the SSDs (6 months), both filesystems residing on them developed problems over time (one OS X Lion, one OS X Snow Leopard).
     

Share This Page