Projector for MacBook, iPad & PS3

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by ThE.MeSsEnGeR, May 24, 2012.

1. ThE.MeSsEnGeR macrumors 6502a

ThE.MeSsEnGeR

I need advice on finding a good projector that I will use for 3 main things:
    - watch movies/tv shows from my MacBook (which is connected to a 2TB drive).
    - mirror iPad to play some games.
    - play PS3 games, and watch BluRay movies on it.

What I need from the projector:
    - average price range, nothing above $1500.
    - full 1080p picture. (maybe 3D)
    - Audio out to connect speakers. (not necessarily surround)
    - quiet fans.

As you see, movies and games are my priority. So, clear crisp image is a big plus. And I'm new to projectors, so I'm not sure if I'll find those specs.

Any help would be appreciated.

2. ThE.MeSsEnGeR thread starter macrumors 6502a

ThE.MeSsEnGeR

3. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

LethalWolfe

I don't know much about specific projectors, but I do know that environment plays a larger role in buying a projector as opposed to buying an LCD or Plasma TV. The type of screen you are projecting on, the ambient light in the room, and the distance from the projector to the screen all should factor into what you are looking for. For gaming you also have to consider lag and just from reading a few reviews it seems like lag is problem for twitch/reaction games (fighters, FPS, etc.,).

Lethal

4. ThE.MeSsEnGeR, May 25, 2012
    Last edited: May 28, 2012

ThE.MeSsEnGeR thread starter macrumors 6502a

ThE.MeSsEnGeR

Thank you for your reply. I see your point. All those factors are pretty understandable and I can deal with them. Except one, the lag. I haven't heard that there's lag. That would be a huge deal breaker for me. Since the games I mainly play are Mortal Kombat, Need For Speed and Call of Duty... So I guess I have to research a bit more.

5. nateo200 macrumors 68030

nateo200