PROMISE Pegasus2 R4 Diskless JBOD?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by akrantz, Dec 20, 2013.

  1. akrantz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    #1
    Hey all,

    Does anyone happen to know if this ( http://store.apple.com/us/product/H...kless-4bay-thunderbolt-2-raid-system?fnode=5f ) can be used as just a HD interface (JBOD) and NOT a Raid. I am trying to figure out the cheapest TB2 way to take the two drives (4TB) of data I have inside my current mac pro and use them with my new MacPro when it arrives in January. My apologies if it should be obvious but I can't seem to find the answer anywhere.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. ZnU macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    #2
    It's not mentioned on any of the data sheets, etc. I've seen for the Pegasus2.

    That said, if all you're trying to do is use two non-RAID, non-SSD hard drives with a new Mac Pro, there are much cheaper options. USB 3.0 is fast enough to handle one or two HDDs, for instance, so you could install them in something like this or use a dual drive dock like this.
     
  3. akrantz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    #3
    Well I guess its also about being a little forward looking because I was assuming I would expand to a 4 drive system later on. Also, I run Audio and video apps that use plugins and footage ill be storing on these drives so the more speed I can have (that I can afford) the better, for that reason I would prefer a TB or TB2 drive.

    Thanks for the answer :)
     
  4. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #5
    As Nugget links above... Someone from Promise (we presume) dropped in on another thread and confirmed it supports a "passthrough" mode which works just like JBOD.
     
  5. akrantz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    #6
    Awesome thanks!

    ----------


    Awesome thanks!
     
  6. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
  7. raw911 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    #8
    I found this to be interesting solution

    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/OWC/MESRTBT0GBK/

    I'm in same situation so I think I'm gonna go this route
     
  8. MDP macrumors newbie

    MDP

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    #9
  9. Macman45 macrumors G5

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #10
    A little off topic, but thought I'd mention it here...for people using the Promise utility on R series units, there is a large firmware update out to improve performance and stability under Mavericks.
     
  10. ytoyoda, Dec 22, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2013

    ytoyoda macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Location:
    Tokyo
    #11
    The answer was on the page you looked at first. You read this paragraph.
    And few blocks bellow it;
    So, I think, you need some place to back up your data while you reconfigure it to RAID.
     
  11. raw911 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    #12
  12. Einz macrumors regular

    Einz

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Miami
    #13
    I just got this one. http://oyendigital.com/hard-drives/store/3R5-EB3-M.html

    I took all my all my drives out except for the boot drive and put them in there. It's quiet and no decrease in performance with my mechanical drives.

    I just need for nMP to arrive and plug it in.
     
  13. jasonvp macrumors 6502a

    jasonvp

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #14
    I'm not sure if it can, but I do know through interacting with Oyen Digital's sales that their 4-disk RS-M4T can be configured as a JBOD, where each individual drive appears to OS X. That way you can continue accessing any data and/or filesystem already on them, as well as use OS X's internal kernel-based RAID if you want.
     
  14. akrantz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    #15
    Thanks for all the help guys I have complied this information in another thread for easy reference.
     
  15. Rad macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    #16
    Yes it can.

    Just loaded my new Promise Pegasus2 R4 diskless with four new blank WD RE 4 TB drives. Hooked it up to a 2013 MBP 15 inch retina display running 10.9.1 and it appeared without difficulty as four separate drives. The Promise utility lists each drive as pass-thru and functions as a JBOD. Just waiting for my Mac Pro sometime in January. . .

    :)
     
  16. Mormith macrumors newbie

    Mormith

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    #17
    Bootable from different Operating Systems?

    Hi,

    I currently use an early 2008 Mac Pro 3,1 with four HDs inside that I use in JBOD. In fact, two contain different operating systems (Windows and Ubuntu) that I boot into. I'm interesting in the new Mac Pro and would very much like to continue using this JBOD setup and was wondering if anyone knows (or can test) if the Pegasus2 R4 can be used to boot into a disk with a different operating system.

    Full disclosure: I already emailed PROMISE about this and they told me that other, "-Bootable only for Mac OS X, other operating is not supported at this time." However, I know that some people have figured out how to do this with external drives over thunderbolt. So, I guess I'm wondering if anyone knows (or can try) to see if this will work with the Pegasus2 R4?
     
  17. Einz macrumors regular

    Einz

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Miami
    #18
    If all you want is a JBOD option, it's much cheaper to go the USB 3 enclosure route. Since the new mac pro doesn't support win7. I couldn't test the win boot from USB when I have my MP.
     
  18. jamesrob macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Location:
    California Wine Country
    #19
    Digging in to that bundle, I learned that it probably won't work as intended. The LaCie people say that their TB hub doesn't support "port multiplication" from eSATA inputs, meaning that it will only see ONE of the two drives in the OWC drive enclosure. LaCie also said they wouldn't recommend relying on eSATA port multiplication even if the hub DID support it - too much risk of dropped or errantly transmitted data.
     
  19. jamesrob macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Location:
    California Wine Country
    #20
    There was a review on CNET that claimed that if the host MacBook Pro went to sleep, the Pegasus volumes would dismount and couldn't reconnect unless the Pegasus enclosure was power-cycled. Have you had any such problems?

    Thanks so much,
    Jim Robertson
     
  20. raw911 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    #21
    Yes the esata hub will not work due to I think cause of the raid card that's installed into th oMP.
     
  21. ozbimmer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #22
    I am glad that 4TB drives are supported. According to this it appears that only drives from the old Mac Pro are compatible.
     
  22. orytek macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #23
    Does anybody know if with 4 of the same drives and using the Promise utility, I could set 2 drives to pass-thru and the other 2 drives to raid 0?
     
  23. nischalr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    #24
    Yes this is possible, I just played around with mine extensively and the combination you describe was a combination that I was able to set up with no problem. I have since setup a slightly different combo, although I had to jump a few hoops to do it. I currently have 2 Samsung 1TB SSD's in a RAID 0 and 2 4TB WD RE drives in a RAID 1.

    The Box limits options when you have different types of drives. I had to remove the WD drives to setup my SSD RAID 0 then put in my WD drives to setup the RAID 1. In the end it has been great. Really robust utility
     
  24. michael_aos macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    #25

Share This Page