Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ghall

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Jun 27, 2006
Rhode Island
I just started a new website, which is my first serious venture into the world of the internet. It's a weblog that reviews apps that are compatible with the iPod Touch. So anyway I'm new at this, but so far I've been doing pretty good with 29 new visitors yesterday, and a total of 14 subscribers. I'm on track to have at least 40 new visitors today. I'm just wondering what's the best way to promote to get even more visitors. I was thinking of making a post in the iPod Touch forums here but I think that constitutes as spam.

For anyone who wants to check it out it's TouchZapp.com

angelwatt

Moderator emeritus
Aug 16, 2005
USA
Yeah, posting the site in the forums without cause would be spam, but if the site relates to the topic at hand (like someone wanting a review of one of those apps) then you could post it. You can also have it lingering in your signature as well. A lot of my visitors find me through Mac Rumors.

There's different ways to go about it. When you leave comments on other web sites, some will let you post a web site as well, but I'd make sure it's at least a little bit relevant to the topic on that page or the site so it doesn't seem too random. Word of mouth works OK. The other thing to do is increase your search ranking, also known as SEO (search engine optimization). There's entire books written on this topic. Definitely worth looking at. Lastly, you can submit sitemaps to search engines. You can check out Google's sitemap page here. I believe you can submit the sitemap to Yahoo as well and maybe other search engines.

south8212

macrumors 6502
Oct 18, 2008