Protect Display from Keys making marks?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by LightOnAHill, Aug 3, 2011.

1. LightOnAHill macrumors regular

I see that the computer shipped with a microfiber sheet of paper that apparently protected the screen.

I have seen other apple affectionados using some piece of cloth or something to put between their keyboard and the screen whenever they close the laptop.

My question, IS THIS NECESSARY FOR THE AIR? What say ye?

2. Pipper99 macrumors 68000

Pipper99

I was worried about this, too, when I got my 2010 MBA, but I didn't use the sheet during the 14 day return period to see if the screen would be affected (this does happen on my HP laptop), and I haven't used anything to protect the screen from the keyboard since then, and it looks perfect.

3. robby818 macrumors 6502a

I think if you compress the lid as in a backpack then there is some danger of the keys rubbing against the screen. Under normal use, the danger is minimal, but I carry my laptop in a bag and usually in my car where there is a lot of jostling so I use the shaggymac. Using a microfiber cloth totally prevents any marks, just make sure ht e cloth is always clean and buy a very thin one so that the lid can close without stressing the hinges.

4. iExpensive macrumors 6502

iExpensive

As robby said, if you put pressure on the mba the keys will touch the screen.
    I haven't had any trouble with mine in my bag, however my neoprene case causes a lot of oil transfer.

5. ttran88 macrumors regular

get a screen protector which also removes glare if you got a antiglare one

6. striker33 macrumors 65816

striker33

A screen protector... on a laptop? Talk about one pointless piece of plastic.

7. coelacanth macrumors 6502