Protecting Investment - SIMS 3

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by harcosparky, Jun 21, 2009.

  1. harcosparky macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #1
    So today my daughter went out and bought SIMS 3.

    Much to my dismay the disk must be in the drive to play the game.

    Is there a way to create a 'playable' backup of the disk so that if it gets damaged the original will always be safe?

    So far I tried to use Toast 6 Titanium - yeah it's an old version and I am cheap - It FAILED to make a backup.

    Thanks
     
  2. fcamilleri macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Location:
    In Your Mind
    #2
    Find a crack!

    It's not piracy if you actually OWN the game.

    Pretty much, thats actually the (legal) reason that cracks are there, so your lazy ass doesn't have to keep a disk in the drive.
     
  3. harcosparky thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #3
    I wonder if EA has a media replacement purchase policy, where registered owners can buy a backup disk.

    As it is now my daughter is living with the disk in her computer!
     
  4. Rodus macrumors 6502a

    Rodus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #4
    Just google "Mac Sims 3 no cd" and follow the instructions
     
  5. Littleodie914 macrumors 68000

    Littleodie914

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #5
    It's pretty easy, actually :)

    1. Insert the Sims disk, open Disk Utility
    2. Go to File -> New -> Disk Image from (Select a Device)
    3. Save the Disk Image to a safe location
    4. Eject the physical disk, double-click the saved image
     
  6. mediamab macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    #6
    hiya,

    does this setup actually work? does it work for any game? i always thought it would need to be in the actual drive and not an image?

    cheers
     
  7. admanimal macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    #7
    I would be shocked if this actually works.
     
  8. Nerfherder88 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    #8
    You should be able to open the play disk with Toast Titanium 10 and make a disk image (assuming you want to purchase Toast Titanium 10). Disk Utility should do the job as well and may actually be easier.
    As said earlier in the thread if you own the physical game it is legal to use a no-cd/dvd crack. Do you google search and you will find quite a few cracks. Be careful not to download a cracked version of the game. The file should be no larger than 30mb. If you download something that is over that file size you may be downloading a full version of the game (about 5-6gb). Easy to catch, but a bad mistake to use.
    Also watch out for Cracks packaged with KEYGENs. These are almost always filled with malicious software, fake, and illegal. Owning a mac may not protect you from some of the evil things these keygen programmers write.
    Just make sure your downloading a crack only file from a well regarded website if you choose to go that route. (First filter should be a site that reminds you that using the crack without owning the game is illegal)

    I would stick with Toast or Disk Utility and Good Luck
     
  9. andreas32 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    #9
    It didn't, at least not on my iMac running 10.5.7. I set the preferences to CD/DVD Master and no encryption. The .cdr burned fine in Disk Utility passing verification and mounting. However, Sims 3 said the disc failed and shut down. I also tried mounting the image and Sims 3 doesn't seem it mounted.
     
  10. horre macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    This works for me! Version 1.2.7.2 fix

    1) Install the game from DVD, enter your license key as you are expected to do..
    2) At the Launcher window, let it update with the latest patch. The Launcher will indicate the version. In my case, I got 1.2.7.2 At this point I can play the game with the DVD in drive.
    3) Exit the game.
    4) Download the 1.2.7.2 crack http://rapidshare.com/files/244507224/SMCrCK.rar . The password to open this rar file is "weedy" .
    5) Use finder and get to the Sims3 app. By default it is at /Applications/The Sims 3/The Sims 3 .
    6) Right click the app and select "Show Package contents"
    7) In the Package Content finder window, goto Contents/Resources/transgaming/c_drive/Program Files/Electronic Arts/The Sims 3/Game/Bin .
    8) Find the file TS3.exe, rename it to TS3.exe.orig. Replace it with the one you downloaded earlier from 4) above.
    9) Eject the DVD and restart the game. Hopefully this works for you. If not and you want to undo the change, just delete the crack file and rename TS3.exe.orig back to TS3.exe .
    10) Note, if there is another update, TS3.exe may get over written and you may need to repeat the copy process.
     
  11. chaos86 macrumors 65816

    chaos86

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #11

    Actually, according to the DMCA, it's illegal to "circumvent copy-protection" for any reason. Even if you own it.

    And the commonly referred to "fair-use" is a concept we use to justify our breaking of the DMCA laws, not an actual exception written into the law.
     
  12. zorahk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    North Korea
  13. sona2010 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Location:
    Oceania
    #13
    sims 3 on a MAC

    i've spent the last two days or so trying to get the right version of that ts3.exe file into my sims folder.

    I don't think it's that file that is the problem, i think the fix is only for windows installations.

    I noticed that every set of instructions tells the user to use the ts3.exe to open the game from the fix onwards.
    This was annoying as hell, because of course, i can't open sims with an .exe because i use a mac!

    so all of these search results stating that the fix works on a mac, are either completely mislead, or there is something wrong with my version of the game (a legal copy mind you, shared between a friend and myself)



    i imagine this thread is long dead, but i thought this might be the best place to ask, does anyone have an alternative to this fix?
    can anyone think of some solution (besides burning/mounting a copied disc image every time i play the game... because at 6gb or so, it is NOT a viable solution.)
     
  14. 7031 macrumors 6502

    7031

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #14
    Yes, that crack is windows only.

    Also, even if you purchased the gaming, sharing a copy is legally considered just as bad as piracy. Hell, isn't that what piracy is? Someone buying the game, and uploading it to a torrent website and allowing people to download it. All you're doing, is sharing the cost of the game (OK, I can see where you're coming from), but still, to then crack it so you can have a copy of it is just as bad as piracy sadly.
     

Share This Page