ProTools, Photoshop CS3 Extended - MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by hukuma, Jul 15, 2007.

  1. hukuma macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #1
    Team - This is my first post. I've searched the forum, and have found TONS of useful info...but, my specific question hasn't been answered.
    I'm a Mac user...but am looking to upgrade to a MBP 17 shortly. I'm going to be using ProTools for home studio work and PS CS3 for pix.
    So...the question(s) - given that I have limited funds, am I better off with more RAM (upgrade to 4GB) or faster HD drive speed?

    I'm looking forward to getting this machine. Hopefully the new iLife doesn't come out right after I buy it...if it does, well...such is life (pun intended).

    Thanks
     
  2. RichL macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #2
    I'm gonna have to go with get the better hard drive.
    1. They overcharge RAM
    2. You have to pay to upgrade hard drives at a certified shop
     
  3. Trillium macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #3
    Go with the drive upgrade, unless you're going to be working with exeptionally huge files. 2 gigs is more than enough for most photoshop uses.
     
  4. 88Keys macrumors regular

    88Keys

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    #4
    RAM RAM RAM the more ram the better. As for protools you wont need to upgrade the internal drive since you never record to your system drive so I;m sure you'd have an external for that. For photoshop I think the internal should be enough.
     
  5. RichL macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #5
    If he wants to waste money on overpriced RAM, be my guest...You can pay like 150-200 bucks for 4GB of RAM instead of the 400 they charge. The hard drive is a good investment because upgrading it yourself voids warrants which forces you to pay for the services of others.
     
  6. 88Keys macrumors regular

    88Keys

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    #6
    Oh no I wasnt suggesting him to get the ram from apple.
     
  7. RichL macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #7
    MAH BAD!
     
  8. hukuma thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #8
    Thanks

    Thanks for the responses...indeed, I'll be writing to an external drive for ProTools, but would like to use the internal for pictures.
    BTW, I should have mentioned that I wouldn't buy the extra RAM from Apple. I was thinking about ordering from Crucial...as I've heard / read good things.
     
  9. WorldIRC macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    #9
    For storage for ProTools I urge you to go external....grab an eSata card and go from there! It'll perform just like an internal drive!
     

Share This Page