iPhone Protube 2 session expired

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by taedouni, Feb 14, 2013.

  1. taedouni macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #1
    Is anyone else having issues with Protube 2 features working ? I keep getting session expired every time I try to use the added feature such as download or quality etc.

    ----------

    [​IMG]
    Essentially this is what I get.
     
  2. iRetired macrumors 6502a

    iRetired

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Location:
    WNY
    #2
    I got the same error last night when trying to play some Subaru dog commercials. Probably has something to do with a conflict with Safari Downloader. I tried Jasmine, ProTube 2, Tube Box, and Tube Downloader (kinda sounds like overkill, but once I find one that works, I'll keep them all) and received the same error on all of them.
     
  3. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #3
    Have you tried the original ProTube (one of my favorite Cydia purchases)? That's what I use and I have never run into this error. I dont have safari Downloader though. I use the free Dolphin browser to download files from the Internet. I'm all about limiting unnecessary Cydia packages.
     
  4. iRetired macrumors 6502a

    iRetired

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Location:
    WNY
    #4
    Will it work on OS6.1.1 on a 4S? Then I can dump those other apps. Thanks!
     
  5. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #5
    That's exactly what I use. 4S on 6.1.1. Open in ProTube was just updated the other day to support iOS6. It's working great on my phone. What video is giving you that error? Let me know so I can try it first. No point in you wasting money if it doesn't solve your problem.
     
  6. super michael macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    #6
    Just curious what is the difference between youtube and protube?
     
  7. iRetired macrumors 6502a

    iRetired

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Location:
    WNY
    #7
    Practically all of the Subaru dog commercials. Search "2013 Subaru dog commercials" - thanks!

    ----------

    YouTube is free. Pro Tube v1.9.1 costs $1.99USD. But, OTOH, if it works, then it's worth the hassles I've experienced.
     
  8. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #8
    I just watched all these videos and all of them played in their entirety without any errors or stops. It didn't even stop to buffer. Is it possible you have another conflicting tweak that might be interfering? Well either way, I'm not getting any errors with ProTube.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #9
    There are a ton of features ProTube offers. You should check out its Cydia page for the description and list of features. It's a ton. If you buy it don't forget to download the free extension Open in ProTube along with the app. ProTube officially replaced the YouTube app on my iPhone back when i first installed it. I never looked back. I haven't used the stock youtube app nor have I used any 3rd party YouTube app since I discovered ProTube. Some suggest ProTube 2 because that integrates into the YouTube app from the App Store. But I don't see any reason to buy that when I already own a copy of the original ProTube. It's also worth noting that the original ProTube is still updated frequently and the dev has no plans on discontinuing it. I say this because you might prefer ProTube 2.
     
  10. jrodsep macrumors 6502

    jrodsep

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #10
    Protube 2 session expired

    I also had similar problems. I tweeted the creator of the tweaks (@JonasGessner) and he said that there were problems with YouTube API. And that a he would work on a fix next week.
     
  11. iRetired macrumors 6502a

    iRetired

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Location:
    WNY
    #11
    You've convinced me. Thanks for all of your work. You really didn't have to do all that! Now on to Cydia to buy Pro Tube.
     
  12. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #12
    Haha! Nice. It plays Vevo videos too and blocks any and all ads. Nothing is more annoying than when you go to watch your favorite musician's music video only to find out you need the Vevo app! Haha

    Funny enough, ProTube is one of the jailbreak benefits that convinced a couple of my friends to jailbreak their iPads and iPhones haha.

    Edit: it also has the nitro JavaScript engine built into the app. ProTube 2 might do that as well but I don't know for sure.
     
  13. Carlanga macrumors 604

    Carlanga

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #13
    either a tweak you have is interacting w/ it or you just need to buy it.
     
  14. jrodsep macrumors 6502

    jrodsep

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #14
    nope. Trouble with latest update
     
  15. taedouni thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #15
    The developer posted on his twitter that it's not working and it now correctly says in the Cydia store that is not currently working. I support developers, so the "need to buy it" does not apply to me, since I did purchase it.
     
  16. Eternal 28 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    #16
    Now the regular pro tube on cydia is saying product is not functioning at this time. Do you guys know if it still works?
     
  17. lukejc1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #17
    I got an email from SaurikIT Support stating that Pro Tibe 2 isn't working and since I only bought it this week I can get a refund if I want. I think I'll hold off and wait for the fix though.
     
  18. BumpyFlatline, Feb 16, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2013

    BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #18
    Wow that's strange. I've been using ProTube all day today without any issues. I've watched/listened to at least 15-20 videos today. I'm not sure what this problem is people are experiencing. Mine is working perfectly fine.

    Edit: Strange, I just check Cydia and didn't see this warning on the original ProTube package description. I did however see it on the ProTube 2 page.
     
  19. iRetired macrumors 6502a

    iRetired

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Location:
    WNY
    #19
    Same here, no problems with the Cydia version of Pro Tube. Maybe they're using the free version of Pro Tube from insanelyi?
     
  20. TM WAZZA macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, New Zealand
    #20
    ProTube 1 loads and plays videos faster for me than ProTube 2. I also get the session expired when trying to change the playback quality on ProTube 2. FYI: It is purchased legitly.

    But I'm getting a problem on ProTube 1 where there's no sound unless I switch the ringer button on
     
  21. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #21
    Me too. I just noticed that this morning.
     
  22. jrodsep macrumors 6502

    jrodsep

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #22
    Protube 2 session expired

    Updated and fixed. Works fine now.
     
  23. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #23
    Still using the original protube I have not seen the need to upgrade as of yet!
     
  24. TheShadowXX macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    #24
    yup I kept getting the error so I just deleted the tweak.
     
  25. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #25
    Haha me too. I love the original protube.
     

Share This Page