Prozac anyone?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by likemyorbs, Feb 4, 2012.

1. likemyorbs, Feb 4, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2012

likemyorbs macrumors 68000

likemyorbs

Last week, i was finally diagnosed with OCD and anxiety disorder. I finally have an explanation for all the problems i've been dealing with since childhood. Recently, it has gotten to the point of self mutilation (not cutting), and that's why i finally decided to seek medical help. My doctor told me i have a chemical imbalance in my brain and i don't produce enough serotonin. He prescribed me Prozac. I'm generally not a fan of anti-depressants, and i was very upset that it has gotten to the point where i clearly need it. However, i've accepted that it's not my fault and if i need it there is no shame in taking it. My doctor warned me the first couple of weeks will be tough, but no matter what just stick with it and don't miss a day. I've been feeling extreme anxiety and experiencing insomnia, i'm on day 5 right now. Is there anyone here who is also on prozac? How long did it take for the negative side effects to go away when you first started taking it? I need some support here, I'm having a really hard time. I'm just glad my doctor warned me in advance because i would be freaking out now. I just walk around exhausted and yawning all day, I'm so tired....

2. Grey Beard macrumors 65816

Grey Beard

Hey Orbs, I have been taking 20mg of Paroxetine HCL for so long now that I can never stop taking them. Sort of hooked for life on a SSRI. I'm fairly sure that it's a form of Prozac.

Knocked me around for the first month or so, and if I miss a day, I'll be very nasty to be around. Severe and rapid withdrawal symptoms. Don't know if this helps. Oh I have 27 pills to pop each day. If I took them all at once I could skip a meal.

KGB:cool:

3. Nabooly macrumors 6502a

Nabooly