PS3 500Gb HDD vs 12Gb flash

Discussion in 'Console Games' started by Dr. McKay, Dec 6, 2013.

  1. Dr. McKay macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Belgium, Europe
    #1
    Will probably be buing a PS3 this weekend. However, some questions remain.
    The PS3 comes with a 500Gb hard drive which is used for demo games, save games and game installs.
    Does installing a game improve performance ? I don't mean FPS but at least loading times should be shorter.
    Can you install all games ? Are there games that you HAVE to install or can you run any game from disc ?
    Should I even consider the PS3 with 12Gb flash storage ? If these are such a bad thing, why is Sony even selling them ?
     
  2. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #2
    No.... you can't choose to install 'ANY' game.

    Yes.. Some games however require 'mandatory' installs and you only need to have a few with mandatory installs and you will have used up that disc space.

    ________________

    Get the 500GB unless you plan on buying the 12GB and installing a hybrid SSD drive for example.

    The 12GB model exists only to offer consumers a PS3 at a cheaper price, but it's simply not enough imho.
     
  3. Miharu macrumors 6502

    Miharu

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    The only reason to buy the 12 Gb version is if you have a spare hard drive lying around the house somewhere. And even then, you have to buy a "hard drive bracket" that costs like 10€. Otherwise you can't use a hard drive on it. Just go with the 500 Gb version :) Those 12 Gb will only be good for game saves and some very small PSN games. If you have a downloadable game that is 6 Gb in size, the PS3 will need 12 Gb to install it and it won't work (you don't really even have the full 12 Gb at your disposal anyway)
     
  4. gkarris macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #4
    Can you use an external?

    Can you use a USB Thumb Drive?
     
  5. Dr. McKay thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Belgium, Europe
    #5
    I've got an external 1Tb drive I don't use (USB 2). Can you use that with a PS3 ?
     
  6. e²Studios macrumors 68020

    e²Studios

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #6
    Not for games or any of the installs that they may need, those are only stored on the internal HD.
     

Share This Page