PS3 blu-ray question

Discussion in 'Console Games' started by mrkramer, Mar 2, 2008.

  1. mrkramer macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #1
    I am considering saving some money to buy a PS3, and if I get one I want to be able to play blu-ray movies. the TV that I will be using it on does not have an HDMI input, so is it possible to play blu-ray movies or will they just be downscaled over component?
     
  2. Soulstorm macrumors 68000

    Soulstorm

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    #2
    They will play downscaled, since your TV does not support HD output.
     
  3. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Other
    #3
    I thought component supported 720p & 1080i for blu ray movies though ?

    I may have gotten myself confused, but I remember the discussion was on here once and one of the PS3 crowd said as much. I always use HDMI so it was a non issue for me.
     
  4. sikkinixx macrumors 68020

    sikkinixx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Location:
    Rocketing through the sky!
    #4
    I'm pretty sure (90%) you NEED HDMI to watch Blu-Ray movies for the whole copyright BS.
     
  5. digitalnicotine macrumors 65816

    digitalnicotine

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    It depends on the TV. Some TV's have HD over component, and others do not. But either way, without HDMI ports, the next best option will be using the component cables. The PS3 comes with composite cables, so you'll need to invest in some component cables, or, some component to hdmi cables. I saw this on Amazon. Let me know if you need a link.
     
  6. e²Studios macrumors 68020

    e²Studios

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #6
    You only NEED HDMI in order to watch movies at 1080p, you also need it if you plan on watching DVDs that are upscaled on it.

    BD movies play at 1080i max resolution when using component cables, and DVD upscale is disabled when using component.
     
  7. spyker3292 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    Michigan
    #7
    I watch mine at 1080i with component cables. Works fine.
     
  8. mrkramer thread starter macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #8
    Thanks for the replies, I'm glad to hear that it can be done. with at least 1080i.
     
  9. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Other
  10. gkarris macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #10
    Until the studios start turning on the CT, then you'll only be able to watch discs at 540i. You need HDMI for 720 and 1080 when that starts happening.

    Since there is no longer any competition from HD DVD (which they said they won't use the CT), I would imagine that they'll start turning them on in Blu-ray....
     
  11. MarsUltor macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    #11
    Please excuse the ignorance, but what is this "CT" you speak of?
     
  12. e²Studios macrumors 68020

    e²Studios

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #12
  13. gkarris macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #13
    the constraint token turned on will limit non-HDMI output to 520 on component...

    I think the law is that the studio HAS to state on the disc whether or not the constraint token is present...
     

Share This Page