PS3 - firewire - iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Xorro, Jan 5, 2009.

  1. Xorro macrumors regular

    Xorro

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    I am considering buy a console, but don't have room for a separate monitor, nor can I really use it in the living room as the OH will most likely be watching TV.

    So, I wonder, does anything exist which would connect a PS3 to the iMac via firewire?

    I know there is eyeTV, but this is only analogue and it seems a shame to have a HD source and only display it in standard definition.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Roy Hobbs macrumors 68000

    Roy Hobbs

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #2
    I didn't think the PS3 had a firewire port?
     
  3. Xorro thread starter macrumors regular

    Xorro

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    OK, I should have been more specific, HDMI (or whatever) out of the PS3 into the FW on the iMac.
     
  4. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #4
    What are you trying to do?

    If you wanna capture video, you'll need an additional adaptor such as a something from Pinnacle Systems.
    By default the all Macs can't capture video input otherwise and there's no video input via it's S-Video/DVI port.
     
  5. Xorro thread starter macrumors regular

    Xorro

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    As per my original post, I want to use the iMac as the monitor for a PS3.
     
  6. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #6
    Sorry, it won't work.

    If you had searched the forums prior to posting you would of found hundreds of threads from other PS3 and Mac users. But something like this will help, though without prior testing experience there's no way to say will there be any frame dropping or not.
     
  7. Xorro thread starter macrumors regular

    Xorro

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    erm, I did do a search thanks, which is why I know about the eyeTV and it's limitations.

    However I didn't find anything specifically about using the firewire port, hence my post. :)
     
  8. ftaok macrumors 603

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #8
    Forget about using FW for this application.

    The PS3 has component output, right?

    You could get a Hauppauge HD-PVR 1212, which is an USB-HD Component capture device. It sort of works on the Mac, although I'm not sure you wouldn't get frame drops, lag, or jerkiness if you're using it like you want.

    But at least you'd get HD resolution.
     
  9. godspeed macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    #9
    I wouldn't bother, I looked into this a while back, whilst you may find a way to achieve your purpose you'll not be able to play due to the time lag between the controller and the screen.....
     
  10. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #10
    Completely off-topic, but what does "OH" stand for? Old hag?

    Also, you could get a monitor and a VESA mount if you don't have table/desk space for a separate monitor.
     
  11. MattZani macrumors 68030

    MattZani

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #11

    Im Guessing, Other Half.
     
  12. uicandrew macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    #12
  13. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #13
    Ahh. Makes sense. I thought maybe it was shorthand for a British bit of slang I didn't know.
     

Share This Page