PS3 media server with mac

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by bcburrows, Nov 9, 2009.

  1. bcburrows macrumors 6502

    bcburrows

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Bristol
    #1
  2. Guiyon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    North Shore, MA
    #3
    When they finally get it working well, maybe. It works perfectly for music and photos but forget videos. I've had much better luck with PS3 Media Server. It doesn't have quite the user-friendly interface though.
     
  3. Bennieboy© macrumors 65816

    Bennieboy©

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Location:
    england
    #4
    +1

    been using medialink for months now and it's awesome, does everything you could want for the cheapest price, and it's simple to set up ;)
     
  4. bcburrows thread starter macrumors 6502

    bcburrows

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Bristol
    #5
    I have the media link add on, it was more the wifi media server I was interested in. Has anyone managed to set it up so that the PS3 can obtain videos/music etc from a wifi hard drive (such as TC) or an alternate wifi hard drive.

    media link is ok - but even with music I notice a lag and with video - forget it - its just painful
     
  5. rkdiddy macrumors 65816

    rkdiddy

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    OC Baby!
    #6
    I really wish PS3 would add media server support for iTunes. :rolleyes:
     
  6. UrFatMom macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    #7
    Yep... For now I just keep connecting my external media HD to the PS3 to stream movies on TV...

    Would be easier if it connected directly on my network, but whatever...
     
  7. gorjan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Location:
    CPH
    #8
    I have a Western Digital My Book World edt. It's a NAS with a built in twonkymedia server for the ps3.
     
  8. bcburrows thread starter macrumors 6502

    bcburrows

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Bristol
    #9
    Can you please enlighten me as to your set up

    Thanks
     
  9. rkdiddy macrumors 65816

    rkdiddy

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    OC Baby!
    #10
    Interesting - how well does that work? Are you able to stream videos, music, pictures, etc?
     
  10. gumbyx84 macrumors 6502

    gumbyx84

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    #11
    Seconded and Thirded. I was thinking of getting a dedicated NAS when I have the money as I have XBMC on my XBox and MBP and stream downloaded shows from my external HD (connected to APEB via USB port). This might be a cheaper alternative (and work easily with my PS3).
     
  11. bcburrows thread starter macrumors 6502

    bcburrows

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Bristol
    #12
    I have started to now look into the Netgear readyNAS boxes - look pretty good, and in the UK there is at present a 'free' hard drive upgrade!!!
     
  12. kgeier82 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #13
  13. Jhanson09 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    kansas city, mo
    #14
    agreed. definite good buy.
     
  14. SpeedFleX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Location:
    Interwebz
    #15
    i have a windows home server, it can serve my ps3 and my apple tv at the same time...

    it is very nice and small and has 8 TBs in it.

    also i can access it when on the go
     
  15. robrose20 macrumors 6502

    robrose20

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #17
    Problem with medialink

    I just got the 250 gb PS3 (low profile), I installed medialink and the ps3 recognizes my itunes library but when I try to stream anything I get an error message saying that it is an unsupported format. I have my itunes drive hooked up to the USB port on my airport extreme basestation. I also turned the translation option on and off. Any suggestions?
     
  16. SpeedFleX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Location:
    Interwebz
    #18
    Does it have DRM, the format you are trying to play?
     
  17. robrose20 macrumors 6502

    robrose20

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #19
    Some of it is content that i downloaded from itunes, others are my own DVD's that I ripped through handbrake. It won't play any of it. So yes, some of it may have DRM, a lot doesn't
     
  18. rmb7984 macrumors regular

    rmb7984

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #20
    THis is a difficult problem. I've had the same thing happen intermittently and have not been able to find an explanation or solution. A work around is to copy the file onto the PS3 using the medialink option.

    Otherwise, I don't have a solution. My setup did this last week, and then this weekend everything worked fine - and without me changing a thing. Weird.
     

Share This Page