PS3 Media Server

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by dukebound85, Oct 24, 2009.

  1. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #1
    I have a couple questions

    1) I have a mb and a desktop. I have media server on both of them. When I run it from the desktop, i get a loop saying that the upnp address is used and goes in an indefinite loop

    When i run it from my mb, it is able to find the ps3 no problem

    whats going on?

    2) Also, is there any reason why my .mp4 and .m4v files are unsupported (some of them) and the ones that play stutter like a lot?

    Thanks
     
  2. j2048b macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Location:
    Cali
    #2
    1. most of these can be answered on the official ps3 media server forums:)

    2. not sure about the windows side, as i have not used that one in over 3-4 months!! Mac took over:apple:

    .mp4's and m4v's can be viewed a few ways:

    you can force them to be transcoded,by adding them to the bar under the trabscode settings tab,> common transcode settings (listed on the left), on the bottom there are 2 open sections named:
    skip transcode for following extensions and another saying force transcode,

    you can add any of them like this: mp4,m4v (make sure the comma is there and no spaces I believe?

    try to skip them first, and see if that works, if not then swith thm to force transcoding section.






    or go under the folder *transcode* (i believe that is what it is called? with in the movies listed on the tv) and play them from there, they will show up as mpeg-4's or mpeg-2's i believe

    the stuttering can be from your settings, on the transcoding settings tab, under common transcoding settings

    or the wireless/wired setup you are running, too tired tonight to go into to many details, so check out their forums, it really does help!

    hope any of this has helped?
     
  3. dukebound85 thread starter macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #3
    thanks that helped!

    also, i had to turn off my firewall on the mac side for it to work
     
  4. dizzyedge macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    #4
    PS3 media server

    I've done all of the above and yet the transcoded Mpeg 2 file still says it's corrupted. Not sure what else to do at this point.
     
  5. aamirshah macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012

Share This Page