Ps3 Slim and Hp HD Display

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by SchneiderMan, Aug 30, 2009.

  1. SchneiderMan macrumors G3

    SchneiderMan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Location:
    Apple state
    #1
    Hey ill be getting the Slim tomorrow, it will be my first console since the N64 lolz and ill be hooking it up with Hdmi to my 21" Hp 1080 display but wondering how could i get sound from the Slim?
    Thanks.
     
  2. Seppola macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Location:
    Norway
  3. SchneiderMan thread starter macrumors G3

    SchneiderMan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Location:
    Apple state
    #3
    Yes but how could i get it out from the display? the built in speakers are worthless.. is there a way too hook up external speakers? thanks
     
  4. dreamsINdigital macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #4
  5. SchneiderMan thread starter macrumors G3

    SchneiderMan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Location:
    Apple state
    #5
    thanks i have one of those, it came with my soundsticks, so if i use that then i wont be getting Hd because i couldnt use the hdmi.. well i guess ill have to live with it. thanks again. sony should have made a 3.5mm audio jack output for headphones
     
  6. dreamsINdigital macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #6
    No, you use both the HDMI cable and the RCA cable. You can output sound and video from two different cables. This is the way I use my PS3 with my monitor and speakers.
     
  7. SchneiderMan thread starter macrumors G3

    SchneiderMan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Location:
    Apple state
    #7
    ohhh awesome i thought i could only use one kind of cable, so ho many video outputs does the ps3 have?

    edit: oh never mind im stupid lol, i forgot it had a regular hdmi port and also a video proprietary out port lol thanks!
     
  8. 007bond macrumors 6502a

    007bond

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Location:
    DFW, Texas
    #8
    just be sure to go into the audio settings and set audio out through the rca cables.
     

Share This Page