Ps3 / Xbox 360 --> Elgato Hd Tuner --> Mbp = ??

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by quincymc, May 2, 2008.

  1. quincymc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    #1
    Hi guys,

    Im desperately wanting to buy GTA IV (along with a PS3) and, I live in the US and UK throughout the year, so I was wondering if its possible to run a PS3 or 360 into an HD tuner and run the game on my laptop. This would alleviate any NTSC / PAL worries as well as letting be slightly portable (yes I know these consoles arent small but thats OK, Ill pack less clothes!)

    If this works and have set it up is there a noticeable latency as the HD tuner does its thing? ie,would the game be unplayable?
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  3. quincymc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    #3
    Im thinking the same thing but without actually testing it I cant be sure - have you set this up?
     
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    I've used the eyeTV products to attempt gaming but the latency was very noticeable. You might be able to slide by for a turn based game but anything with action needs a real display.
     
  5. quincymc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    #5
    Cool, thanks. its a shame cos it would have been cool to have the ability to do it!
     

Share This Page