PS4 Firmware Update via USB

Discussion in 'Console Games' started by FifaFrancesco, Nov 24, 2013.

  1. FifaFrancesco macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    #1
    Hi guys,

    This is my first post, so whey great being here :)

    So, living in Germany I'm going to be getting my PS4 on Friday.

    I will not dare trying to download the mandatory Firmware update via the Sony Servers on Friday via the PS4 since all of Europe is going to have similar things in mind, so I grabbed it today, as described on the Support page by Sony.

    But here comes my question: I can of course not format my thumb drive to FAT32 on Mavericks, can anyone confirm that the Update process works with exFAT?

    I apologize in advance if anyone asked that question before!

    Thank You,

    FifaFrancesco
     
  2. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #2
    In Mavericks just choose MS-DOS FAT that will format it properly.

    Then just create a folder called PS4 (all capitals) on the card and inside that create another folder called UPDATE (all capitals) and put the downloaded update into that.

    Sorted.
     
  3. AaronM5670 macrumors 6502

    AaronM5670

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Does anyone know if the firmware update is region-locked - i.e. will it work if you downloaded it from the US website and used it on a UK console?

    Also do you need to install the 1.5 update first or can you just install 1.51 without doing the first one before? I have both installed on my iMac.
     
  4. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #4
    Seems to be region based as there is no mention of the 1.5 update on EU playstation site.

    I too downloaded the US update and it was 900mb.

    The EU 1.51 update one released on PSN EU today is 350mb

    Therefore clearly different. Given its smaller size, I've just decided to download it on my PS4 directly instead.

    The update procedure for USB is a little more finicky than first looked. You have to boot into safe mode and then choose update.
     
  5. FifaFrancesco thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    #5
    Yeah exactly. I was originally under the impression that it was close to a Gigabyte, too but 350 Megs should be fine. Also, Amazon f'd my order up so I will be getting it Saturday if I'm lucky which should be even easier on the servers.

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page