PS4 on an old TV?

Discussion in 'Console Games' started by Dagless, Oct 7, 2015.

  1. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #1
    I've picked up an old TV for retro games, but I'm also curious to watch some of my blurays on a tube TV. I've read conflicting information on this from some quick google searches so I'd rather just ask this board!

    Does anyone connect their PS4 using composite or SCART?

    How about a PS3?
     
  2. Taustin Powers macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    #2
    I've seen PS3's connected that way. It's not spectacular, but it works.

    Not sure about PS4. Those only have hdmi out, no?
     
  3. Sekelani macrumors 6502

    Sekelani

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    #3
    I don't think they have hdmi out ports depending on how old the tv is.
     
  4. Dagless thread starter macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #4
    I tested out a HDMI to Scart adapter today and it worked but I'm returning it for a better one.

    So that's that! If anyone wants to get a PS4 connected to an old TV for whatever reason, those £30-40 adapters work just fine.

    I think it's neat to plug newer systems into old TVs. On the PS3 you can play PS1 games as they used to look, and with all the retro PS3/PS4 downloads too.
    And there's something about Twin Peaks and X-Files that just makes it look better on an old TV, even when they're playing from blurays.
     
  5. EdwardSmith36 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    #5
    Is it possible to play ps4 on an old TV? I don't think so. Anything that is connection to ps4 need to be advanced in configuration. Though if it works, then it's your good luck!!!
     
  6. e²Studios macrumors 68020

    e²Studios

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #6
    I think it would work with a PS3 since you could set the resolution to 480i/p but IIRC the lowest setting on a PS4 is 720p? It's not going to look very good but post a pic if you get it working, I'm curious haha.
     
  7. 12vElectronics macrumors 68040

    12vElectronics

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013
    Location:
    California
    #7
    That's cool that it works. I use my PS4 on a 720p first gen LCD tv and the games look much better on my friends newer televisions.
     
  8. croccy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Location:
    North Yorkshire coast
    #8
    Hi what screen res is your Tv on?i am on the look out for a second-hand Tv.Is there a massive difference between 720p and 1080p,i have a PS4.Thanks
     
  9. Dagless thread starter macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #9
    Oh thread resurrection!

    Well just an update, the adapter I bought is amazing and I've bought one for each of my tube TV's. It's great getting an 8bitDo controller and playing emulated games from my iMac identical to how I used to as a kid. I cannot recommend it enough if you're into classic games! I found an old 18" TV/VCR combo at my grandparents place and it now sits beside my 27" iMac in the study :)
     
  10. Gandalf87 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    #10
    if you can convert hdmi in to scart, then ig yeah, otherwise, get a less-expensive led monitor or something. they took out vga port and stuff on a purpose. ther competitors did the same
     
  11. LaceyRamos macrumors newbie

    LaceyRamos

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2017
    Location:
    United States
  12. gkarris macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #12
    Yes, use the standard video/audio cable for the PS3...
     
  13. tshrimp macrumors 6502

    tshrimp

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #13
    Thanks for the info. Glad you were able to get it working.

    I had the opposite issue. Old system to a new TV.
    I still have an old Atari 2600, and had to run it through a VCR that had an NTSC tuner and VCR composite out to the TV. Running via RF cable to ATSC tuner...no luck.
     
  14. gkarris macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #14
    What TV?

    I got a Sharp 1080p 32" TV I use as my computer monitor, and hooked up an Atari Pinball unit to it and it works on Channel 3 on the ATSC Tuner. The tuner can tell if it is an analog signal or a digital signal coming in on the channel.
     
  15. tshrimp macrumors 6502

    tshrimp

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #15
    It was an older 52" Vizio LCD I have since sold. The Atari is no longer hooked up. Great that you were able to get that working.
     

Share This Page