PS4 on iMac 27''

Discussion in 'iMac' started by JawneeWin, Aug 7, 2014.

  1. JawneeWin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #1
    I've been spending months looking for a solution to use my iMac as an external monitor for my PS4 to play on.

    I've looked into capture cards and discovered that this company's capture card claims that they've added support for Macs. Also, instead of HDMI to thunderbolt, it is HDMI to USB 3.0.

    Here is the link to the product: http://gamerzone.avermedia.com//game_capture/extremecap_u3

    Here is the youtube video where I discovered this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BsM5ofGi8kM


    So do you think this actually works?
     
  2. robo456 macrumors 6502

    robo456

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #2
    Unfortunately, everything I've read is that it's a no-go due to the latency issues. :(

    --rob
     
  3. JawneeWin thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #3

    I actually went ahead and purchased the capture card. It has ABSOLUTELY NO latency at all. It runs just like I would on my TV. :) Maybe it has to do with the fact that it uses USB 3.0? hmmm
     
  4. lJoSquaredl macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    #4
    1080p on a 1440p monitor would probably make it look worse than a 1080p monitor would it not? And the latency on iMacs is like 12-15ms I think. BenQ, Asus, lots of monitors that are cheap and have 1-2ms latency. Course if that doesn't matter ur probably good to go, altho seems like an overly complicated setup considering the negatives.
     
  5. JawneeWin thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #5
    I don't really see any difference from my 1080p monitor and my iMac's screen. There really isn't any latency at all. The PS4 connects to the capture card via HDMI and the capture card connects via USB 3.0. I wanted to stream my game through my iMac to eliminate table clutter of my second monitor.

    Here a sample I recorded: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jm_fpJMhIOc&list=UU4QGMi9x_uprNxctr91RCNw
     
  6. insane79 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #6
    seems like a nice solution for people who don't have the space but whats the specs of your 27" iMac? if you have a decent nvidia card in it, you can play games on 1152 rez that will look more crisp & better then what your ps4 is capable of, just my 2 cents.

    enjoy your gaming..
     
  7. JawneeWin thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #7
    I have the stock $1999 27'' iMac.
     
  8. maf2k8 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    #8
    Will this device be any good for using as a capture card for my Sony HDR-CX150 camcorder?
     
  9. JawneeWin thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #9
    Not sure, but for the input, it uses HDMI, and Comp.

    I would try and purchase it, and return it if it does not work. I purchased it through amazon, so returns should be easy. I mean, the capture card is pretty straight forward... I just install the application, plug it in, and it just pops up on my screen. I didn't have to press anything on my PS4.
     
  10. hawken king macrumors member

    hawken king

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Location:
    tokyo
    #10
    the non-thunderbolt iMac will run in either native rez 1440p or 720p when using a DP cable. Can't run at 1080p AFAIK for whatever mystery reason.
     
  11. taberrr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    NY
    #11
    Does anyone know if this will work with a Retina 5K iMac?
     
  12. Mohammed1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    #12
    This will work with all macs that have USB 3.0 but on models with bad specs it may not work at the top setting 1080p/60fps but it will have an option between 720p/60fps or 1080p/30fps. Hope this helps!
     
  13. Dandu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    #13
    It's not a mystery reason, it's a classic problem with Mac : there is no scaler on the display, and the display only accept the native definition (1440p) or 720p, because there is no scaling to display it (4 pixels for 1 pixel).

    If the source can scale the image (i.e. upscale 1080p to 1440p and send 1440p to the display), it works.
     
  14. Genkakuzai macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    #14
    Whoa. Nice trippy game ^^ Reminds me a bit of Flower.
     

Share This Page