iPhone PSA: Reboot Loops before, during, or after evasi0n 7 jailbreak

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Samanosuke, Jan 4, 2014.

  1. Samanosuke, Jan 4, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2014

    Samanosuke macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    #1
    After having jailbroken give or take 20 phones with evasi0n 7 I have made some observations and these are the results:

    1) If your phone is in a reboot loop, be patient, some iphones have taken up to an hour to realize they are working and going past the apple logo.

    2) Sometimes holding home and power till the apple logo comes back helps, not always.

    3) Hard resetting as stated in 2 is the worst way to turn off your phone if you want to avoid reboot loops.

    4) Trying to hold power then volume up has 0 positive effects on getting your iphone to boot up.

    5) Always power down via a method that isn't reboot, power off then power back on.

    6) Be patient, its a frustrating process that takes a bit of effort, but hopefully a fix will be released for it soon.

    7) If all else fails, dfu restore. This is a last ditch effort.
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    Of course power and volume up doesn't do anything. That negates MobileSubstrate's SafeMode ability. To activate that, it's power then volume up at the Apple logo. That does have positive effects when booting ones iDevice if the problem is caused by a bad or incompatible MS extension, which is usually the case of a boot loop.
     
  3. Samanosuke thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    #3
    I meant exactly what you said, but have had 0 success going into safe mode... That is a skill I have yet to master.
     
  4. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #4
    what i do is hold the power button and the second i see the apple logo, i let go of the power button and hold the volume up button until it boots to the lockscreen

    works for me every time
     
  5. Samanosuke thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    #5

    Tried that... No luck... Just takes patience.
     
  6. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #6
    The package has to be installed for it to work. I understood your OP to be in regards to the evasion7 jailbreak. If those comments are regarding running the tool, then substrate isn't installed yet since that is done through cydia obviously.

    Could that be why it didn't work for you? I ask because once it's installed, it's wicked easy to put into safe mode by holding volume up. As soon as my phone starts to boot up, I just hold volume up and it always goes I to safe mode. It never fails.
     
  7. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #7
    I just did it right now (or well, maybe around 30-45 minutes ago by the time I post this) and it worked flawlessly. I thought things might've changed on iOS 7 but nope

    You can watch the quick video I made just now if you would like; it's extremely easy to do (it's done on an iPad 3 Wifi only model): http://youtu.be/zkAVJuEdNbQ

    ----------

    bootlooping is rarely an issue without a tweak (which will more than likely use cydia substrate). The exception would be messing with system files

    i agree with you though, it's really easy to enter safe mode
     
  8. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #8
    Right. But his OP makes it sound like he's specifically referring to the evasion7 tool. Which actually caused many people to get stuck in boot loops which pod2g tweeted about on several occasions. Soecifically one of the iPad 2's had boot loop issues when jailbreaking.

    I was simply making sure the OP knew that substrate needs to be installed in order to boot into safe mode by holding volume up. Silly to offer help if it's not even installed lol

    For example, he tweeted about iPad mini retina boot loop issue related to evasion7.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #9
    ahhh, then that would be a different story. I assumed the OP meant after jailbreaking and not so much during jailbreaking

    I'm aware of the boot loop issues during jailbreaking on the ipad 2 & ipad mini retina; i believe they were fixed in the 1.0.2 beta version of evasi0n7 though
     
  10. Samanosuke, Jan 4, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2014

    Samanosuke thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    #10
    I'm speaking strictly of the iphone...

    Also the boot loops after jailbreaking.

    Even when trying to restart the iphone.

    I have yet to see one work as effortlessly as the evasi0n jailbreak worked on iOS 6.x.x

    Edit: cydia substrate has been installed on all of them... This was more a general statement to tell people to be patient, that was it.
     
  11. BumpyFlatline, Jan 4, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2014

    BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #11
    I believe you are correct that it was fixed. Although yesterday I remember pod2g was tweeting about one of the devices which still was experiencing boot loops. Ionic suggested keeping the pass code enabled I believe. Not sure what the final consensus was though since I didn't keep up with the tweets. You know, that little annoying thing called work was interfering with my internet time ;)

    Either way, you were right. The OP was talking about post successful jailbreak. I misunderstood his post/title.

    Edit: Since discussing this topic, it got me thinking about my personal jailbreak issues. I feel very lucky since I've only experienced the boot loop issue once. It was after jailbreaking 4.3.3 with jailbreakme.com. I installed a tweak and then it keep rebooting. But since then, I've had only minor issue jailbreaking, and usually it's related to battery issues which are fixed by removing the offending tweak.
     
  12. Carlanga macrumors 604

    Carlanga

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #12
    Lol at #4 it will never work since you are installing the jb itself not a tweak that uses ms. If you didn't understand that then I will recommend you stop doing so many jbs
    I jb 5 devices all perfectly. Even an ipad2 I just waited for the fix and did it w no loop waiting.

    Either way most people have to restore the fw because most have done their update through OTA. So a restore is the first thing I do. Quick easy and painless. And yes I do dfu restore more because I have been doing dfu ones.
     
  13. wordsworth03 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    #13
    It is not completely fixed for ipad 2 and ipad mini retina. I have tried every way under the sun and cannot get past the boot loop with 1.0.2 on my ipad mini retina. I know some people have gotten it to work but it is def not completely fixed
     
  14. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #14
    That's what I thought too. Thanks for confirming. I need to jailbreak my cousins device but I'll wait until the next evasion update. Luckily he's in no rush.
     
  15. Samanosuke thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    #15
    I wrote after in the title... Clearly I didnt make it clear enough.
     

Share This Page