PSD > Dreamweaver > Website - How??

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by Magrathea, Jun 23, 2010.

1. Magrathea macrumors regular

I've been give a mockup of a website as a series of PSD (CS4) files - one PSF file for each page. Various element of the site are contained in layers in the PSD files. I've never used Dreamweaver before (I'm a Drupal guy :)) so was wondering how I go about creating an HTML site out of the PSD layers using Dreamweaver?

This is how I think it should work, correct me if I'm wrong and if there is an easier way.

1) Export all the layers as PNG (JPGs for the photos) I tried a script that is built into Photoshop to do this (File > Scripts > Export Layers to Files) but it didn't appear to work.

2) Once I have all the elements in PNG / JPG form I drag them into some type of template in Dreamweaver. I need to create this first before I drag in the elements ?? Should this template just be a table or should I use the more modern DIV tag method?

Any comments or hints would be appreciated. This a one off site that will be up for 6 months hence the design in Dreamweaver. The Graphics are done and don't need to change.

Regards
    Mag

2. Cabbit macrumors 68020

Cabbit

Best hint is don't!
    Really dinny do this is creates a mess of a site that is inaccessible, spaghetti coded, and slow to load.

A better solution its to look at each component of your mockup and think about what needs to be a image, what can be easily recreated with HTML and CSS, and how if anything can be simplified.

The next stage is to optimise each of the images you have to use then write some clean and efficient HTML styled up with CSS.

If your using gradients you can recreate these for modern browsers using CSS and just have a version of your site with image gradients for deprecated browsers.

3. citizenzen macrumors 65816

I need a Scottish-to-English dictionary. :p

4. Magrathea thread starter macrumors regular

I know but ...