PSU in Mac Pro 2008

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by TheWaveable, Apr 25, 2013.

  1. TheWaveable macrumors member

    TheWaveable

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Location:
    Norway
    #1
    Hi!

    I bought a 2008 motherboard and 2x new CPUs for my 2006/2007 Mac Pro. But when I press the power button the only thing happening is a *click*. Do I need a bigger PSU or is there another problem?

    Any thoughts?
     
  2. linuxcooldude macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #2
    You are going to need to provide detailed description of the type of processors & Mac Pro before anyone can help you.
     
  3. TheWaveable thread starter macrumors member

    TheWaveable

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Location:
    Norway
    #3
    The CPUs are 2 Intel Xeon E5472 SLBBH 3.00GHz 12M 1600MHz Quad Core
    The PSU is the PSU that came with the machine (2006)
    Motherboard is 2008 Mac Pro
     
  4. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    You don't give much to go on here but I am thinking that you have taken the logic board from a 2008 machine and put it into a 2006 case this will not work. You need both boards in the machine to be from the same series a 2008 backplane board and 2008 logic board go together. Both boards have firmware that must match for it to be able to boot.
     
  5. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #5
    No. Backplane + CPU tray started from 4,1. Previous models have single logic board.

    OP, you need 2008 PSU too. Even if 1,1/2,1 PSU looks that same as 3,1 one, their specs are slightly different.
     
  6. TheWaveable thread starter macrumors member

    TheWaveable

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Location:
    Norway
    #6
    Ok, thanks! :)
     

Share This Page