Public Beta 4 not showing up

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by Nunyabinez, Aug 10, 2015.

  1. Nunyabinez macrumors 68000

    Nunyabinez

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    #1
    I have multiple machines running El Cap public beta. My iMac with Retina is not finding the beta 4 though all my other machines have found it. Any idea about how to force this? Would I be OK reinstalling the original beta and installing all the updates or is that a bad idea?
     
  2. Tamagotchi macrumors 6502

    Tamagotchi

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    #2
    I seem to remember there is a terminal command to force the beta showing up (at least for the DPs, no idea about the PBs).

    Maybe someone can share it?
     
  3. Nunyabinez thread starter macrumors 68000

    Nunyabinez

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    #3
    Actually, I now think my problem is a little more complicated. Because I'm impatient I decided to just give reinstalling a shot. It failed with the error about MBR and GPT incompatibility, I don't remember the exact syntax, but I think my windows 10 Boot Camp messed things up. So likely I'll have to blow that away and reinstall windows to make this work.
     
  4. Nunyabinez thread starter macrumors 68000

    Nunyabinez

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    #4
    I solved my own problem, but just in case someone has a similar issue in the future, here is a link to fix the "a mismatch between the mbr and gpt partition maps is not supported" error

    https://forums.developer.apple.com/thread/3467
     
  5. childoftheko4n macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    #5
    Still no PB4 for me either. However after running the terminal command I do show DP6... I'm skeptic to install tho from PB3 0.0
     
  6. Nunyabinez thread starter macrumors 68000

    Nunyabinez

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    #6
    I ended up re-running the beta install from my app list and installing the updates one by one. It took a while, but it actually cleared up a few issues I was having like getting notified that dropbox was being opened for the first time every time I rebooted. That's always an option.
     
  7. childoftheko4n macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    #7
    hm, il have to give this a shot. You had the original Beta install file still, or was able to redownlaod the initial file from the app store
     
  8. Nunyabinez thread starter macrumors 68000

    Nunyabinez

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    #8
    It showed up still in my app store list. I just downloaded, installed, and updated. Didn't seem to cause any problems and got me through PB 4.
     
  9. childoftheko4n macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    #9
    gotcha. Yeah I gotta try this when home. Been pretty unstable recently
     

Share This Page