Publish a simple frame site

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by iSaint, Oct 19, 2007.

  1. iSaint macrumors 603

    iSaint

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    South Mississippi y'all, near the water!
    #1
    I'm shallow in the knowledge of web development. I've created a site with frames that I can't get to publish. The frames are recognized, but they don't appear.

    Here's a shot of the directory on my computer, where I can view the site ok.

    Picture 2.png

    Plus a shot of the directory on the host.

    Picture 3.png


    Why isn't the site appearing? I'll send someone the files if you need to look at their structure or something. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    Need to see the code you're using to do the frames.
     
  3. iSaint thread starter macrumors 603

    iSaint

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    South Mississippi y'all, near the water!
    #3
    I use Dreamweaver, and don't know code that well. So I'm just designing on the fly. How can I show you the code? Can I send you the file(s)?
     
  4. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    Dreamweaver has a code view. I don't currently have it installed on my machine so can't be specific, but it's possibly under the View menu. Also when you post it, be sure to use the Code quotes (has the <> on the button) so that it shows up better in the forum.

    Hold off on sending me the files. I may not have an answer so best to put it where more people can see it.
     
  5. iSaint thread starter macrumors 603

    iSaint

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    South Mississippi y'all, near the water!
    #5
    Here goes:
     

    Attached Files:

  6. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    Well the first two images you have there are of the same file. You seemed to have skip over the index file. That was possibly the more important one too. I don't see anything obviously wrong with the other files.
     
  7. iSaint thread starter macrumors 603

    iSaint

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    South Mississippi y'all, near the water!
    #7
    Here it is. I copied it from Source View in Firefox. My lack of understanding of how frames work keeps me from being able to see the index file in Dreamweaver. I wonder if my mistakes are from how I originally saved the files.

    <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Frameset//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/frameset.dtd">
    <html>
    <head>
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
    <title>Untitled Document</title>
    </head>

    <frameset rows="*,142" cols="*" framespacing="0" frameborder="NO" border="0">
    <frameset rows="37,*" cols="*" framespacing="0" frameborder="NO" border="0">
    <frame src="file:///Powerbook%20G4%20HD/Users/nickgault/Documents/My%20Webs/MUW%20Site/port/NGaultFrameMenu.htm" name="topFrame" scrolling="NO" noresize>
    <frameset rows="*" cols="198,*" framespacing="0" frameborder="NO" border="0">
    <frame src="file:///Powerbook%20G4%20HD/Users/nickgault/Documents/My%20Webs/MUW%20Site/port/NGaultFrameMidLeft.htm" name="leftFrame" scrolling="NO" noresize>

    <frame src="file:///Powerbook%20G4%20HD/Users/nickgault/Documents/My%20Webs/MUW%20Site/port/NGaultFrameRight.htm" name="mainFrame">
    </frameset>
    </frameset>
    <frame src="file:///Powerbook%20G4%20HD/Users/nickgault/Documents/My%20Webs/MUW%20Site/NGaultFrameBottom.htm" name="bottomFrame" scrolling="NO" noresize>
    </frameset>
    <noframes><body>
    </body></noframes>
    </html>
     
  8. Me1000 macrumors 68000

    Me1000

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    #8
    That is because the frameset is being pointed to the location of the frames on your local machine, and not your server.

    try this,

    Code:
    <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Frameset//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/frameset.dtd">
    <html>
    <head>
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
    <title>Untitled Document</title>
    </head>
    
    <frameset rows="*,142" cols="*" framespacing="0" frameborder="NO" border="0">
    <frameset rows="37,*" cols="*" framespacing="0" frameborder="NO" border="0">
    <frame src="port/NGaultFrameMenu.htm" name="topFrame" scrolling="NO" noresize>
    <frameset rows="*" cols="198,*" framespacing="0" frameborder="NO" border="0">
    <frame src="port/NGaultFrameMidLeft.htm" name="leftFrame" scrolling="NO" noresize>
    
    <frame src="port/NGaultFrameRight.htm" name="mainFrame">
    </frameset>
    </frameset>
    <frame src="NGaultFrameBottom.htm" name="bottomFrame" scrolling="NO" noresize>
    </frameset>
    <noframes><body>
    </body></noframes>
    </html>

    although, I am not sure what the "*" does in the frameset

    You could always open the index file in a text editor (text edit would work, as long as it doesnt try to render the page.)

    Download text wrangler (free) and open the index page with that to edit it.
     
  9. iSaint thread starter macrumors 603

    iSaint

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    South Mississippi y'all, near the water!
    #9
    Ok, I finally fixed it. Thanks for the help. It's located at:

    http://www2.muw.edu/~nag/index.html

    I knew it was pointing to the wrong location to find the frames. But, how do you view/edit the index.html file in Dreamweaver? If I open it, the site appears as the layout of the frames.

    I edited the index.html file with TextWranger and it's working fine now. TextEdit in OS X was trying to throw in some Cocoa language or something.

    Thanks again angelwatt and Me1000!
     
  10. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #10
    I reinstalled Dreamweaver so I could take a look at things. It is rather weird how it handles frames. I setup a "site" within Dreamweaver and in doing so I believe it made it so frames weren't pointing to my hard drive.

    I did figure out how to adjust the frame source though. In the right panel > go under the Files section > then to the Frames tab. It'll show you the layout of the frames. When you select one the panel at the bottom will change and you should see a field for changing "src". That should help you in the future. Glad you got it to work.
     
  11. iSaint thread starter macrumors 603

    iSaint

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    South Mississippi y'all, near the water!
    #11
    The asterisk sets an unlimited number of rows or columns for the frame. I assume when one adjusts their web browser, the width or length of the frame/site moves along with it. I was thinking I should set limits to these. I'm going to work on that a bit.

    I learn a little, but then I don't do anymore website work and forget what I have learned. Some things are coming back to me! :)


    I see that now. That does make it easier to understand. Thanks for the tip.
     
  12. jng macrumors 65816

    jng

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Germany
    #12
    No, it just means variable width. If you have two colums, like cols="150,*", the left frame has a width of 150px and the right frame just expands the rest of the window.
     
  13. iSaint thread starter macrumors 603

    iSaint

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    South Mississippi y'all, near the water!
    #13
    Gotcha, thanks for clarifying.
     

Share This Page