Publishing a web site

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by Bigyella, Nov 30, 2010.

1. Bigyella macrumors member

Guys, I am new at this. So Please be gentle with me! :D This may have been posted before, but I cannot find the answers I need. I just dont understand all the lingo?
    Anyway, I have built a website, using iweb. I am happy with the site, and I am now ready to publish it. I have bought a domain name, about 6 months ago, because I knew I was going to do this in the future. When I click on the publish tab, it directs me to "mobleme" to sign up, without any other options? I want to publish this on my own domain site, without going through mobleme? Does any of this make sense? Thanks in advance for any help you smart folks can provide! :eek:

2. Bigyella thread starter macrumors member

That did not really help me. I am not looking to update from multiply computers? Also, I can not seem to find it, unless, I open the iweb again. There is nothing in my finder, that shows Domain? Thanks guys..

3. besler3035 macrumors 6502a

To publish it somewhere else other than MobileMe, you need a hosting account with another provider, not just a website domain. Once you have this, you need to export the files out of iWeb and put them up on that host's server associated with your domain, usually via FTP.

4. Bigyella, Dec 1, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2010

Bigyella thread starter macrumors member

My problem is, that I cannot find the "publish to FTP" in iweb. When I click the publish tab, ONLY mobile me is coming up. It give me a prompt to try it free for 60 days. When I click no thanks, it just closes, without other options. :confused:

Nevermind.. I figured it out! dummy me!

5. zlinuk macrumors member

If your using iweb '08 you will need to publish the site files to a local folder and then ftp them from there to your domain using an ftp client of your own choosing.

In iweb '09 you can ftp directly from iweb to your own domain.