Publishing to a folder

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by BistoB, Jan 27, 2008.

  1. BistoB macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    #1
    Hi All, totally new to this site and macs in general but getting there, I created my web site in iweb and got it sorted just about,so i decided to do one for the place i work in but my problem is when i go to publish it to a folder it publishes my site as well to the same folder, I do not want to delete my site from the left hand panel on iweb as I have no idea how to get it back if i wish to edit it or add to it, it seems to me that if you have more than one site on the left hand panel of iweb it will publish them all again even though you have one one highlighted,im at a loss on this one any help would be great, Thanks all in advance.
     
  2. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Yeah it publishes both unfortunately, but they go to different folders.
     
  3. BistoB thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    #3
    Thank you for the reply, yea got that no problem but if i delete my site from the iweb left hand side which shows the sites so it will just publish the one that is in there, i take it i can not retrieve my site to iweb to add on pages or change pages, as i would be regularly doing updates to it.
    Thanks again for your reply
     
  4. Ugg macrumors 68000

    Ugg

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Location:
    Penryn
    #4
    It's a waste of processor power, that's for sure.

    I have two sites as well, one I update weekly and another maybe monthly.

    Anyway, when it publishes both sites, I simply delete the folder of the one I don't want.

    Unfortunately, there's no way around this.
     
  5. victry1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #5
    Publishing from 2 users

    I have 2 websites that I publish to .Mac from 1 user account on my Mac. I want to have another one not hosted by .Mac. Is it possible to publish to a folder if I simply make that one in iWeb in a different user account?

    Thanks
     
  6. Ugg macrumors 68000

    Ugg

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Location:
    Penryn
    #6
    Yes, it is.

    I'm working on a German version of my family history and the only way to make that work was to create a new user with German as the system language. So, now I have two iWebsites made by two different users.

    This tactic would work fine for the OP too. I just find it a hassle to switch users.
     
  7. victry1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #7
    Thanks

    Thanks for letting me know. I was kind of afraid to try it cause I didn't want to overwrite the 2 I already have.
     
  8. BistoB thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    #8
    I don't publish to .mac either but im having problems if i want to update my site, i use cyberduck but I just can not figure out how to add on a page to my site,when I create a new page for my site in iweb and publish site to folder, then go to folder and find the new one that i created open cyber duck and go to my htdocs and then my site folder open it and find the folder to which i want to upload to, do this refresh the web site on screen bugger all happens, its just the same, what am i doing wrong i have spend 2 days at this and im about to through it out :mad:is there any other site builders that are easy to use to build a site for the stupid :) i take a lot of photos of motorbike races and would update each week so don't need all this hassle, iweb i like but can not get my head round it as to why i can just add another album or page easily
    HELP HELP
    Here's my attempt to built a site www.burrowsphotos.co.uk/Robert_Burrows_Photos/Welcome_.html
     
  9. Ugg macrumors 68000

    Ugg

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Location:
    Penryn
    #9
    Your site looks good!

    The biggest problem with iWeb is that it doesn't allow you to update rather you have to delete your website on your webhost and then upload the ENTIRE folder again.

    I use cyberduck as well and it does allow you to synchronize but that takes just as long if not longer than simply re-uploading the entire site.

    It's a major waste of bandwidth, IMO but Apple seems blind to the issue as it's been this way since iWeb came out.
     

Share This Page