Puk Code???

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by cake90036, Jun 20, 2009.

  1. cake90036 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    #1
    I just restored my iphone and it says enter PUK code. I brought it to the apple store and they said the can't service it because the phone is form switzerland or something.
     
  2. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    The PUK should be printed on your SIM card (not the SIM itself) or the documentation that came with it.
     
  3. cake90036 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    #3
    I bought this off some guy off craigslist and he didn't tell me about any PUK code because it was unlocked... I restored it when I bought it. Is there anyway to unlock get around that code so I can use the phone.
     
  4. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    Did you buy the phone from Craigslist, or the SIM, or both? The PUK is related to the SIM, not the phone.
     
  5. RandomKamikaze macrumors 6502a

    RandomKamikaze

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    A PUK code is required when you have entered your SIM PIN code incorrectly a set number of times, normally 3

    You need to phone the carrier that owns that SIM to obtain your PUK code
     
  6. cake90036 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    #6
    Is that it then, I cant get the phone function to work?!?!?
     
  7. dontwalkhand macrumors 601

    dontwalkhand

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #7
    Jailbreak and unlock the device, and put your own SIM card into it. You can get the phone function to work if you have your own SIM card in it. The PUK Code is something that you set onto the card I believe.
     
  8. cake90036 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    #8
    Yeah but the only problem is the phone is locked to swisscom or something other than att. And its currently running 3.0 with the newest baseband.
     
  9. josielinnea macrumors regular

    josielinnea

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Location:
    Stockholm
    #9
    Jesus, it has NOTHING to do with the phone.

    The SIM-card that you DO have in your phone right now, what provider is it from? Call THAT company and ask for the PUK-code if you no longer have the documents that came with the SIM-card.

    Just to be really really clear, you shouldn't call the company the phone is locked to, you shouldn't call Apple, and you shouldn't call some company in Switzerland that it was originally bought from.

    You have to call the company that is the cellprovider that you are using in your phone right now when it's asking for a PUK-code.
     
  10. RandomKamikaze macrumors 6502a

    RandomKamikaze

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    Ok, so the way I understand this is that you brought an iPhone network locked to Swisscom and you are on AT&T.

    The only advice I can give you is sit on it until Ultrasn0w is released.

    Once that is released, stick you AT&T SIM in and you will be able to use it.

    Don't phone the SIM card provider that is asking for the PUK code because it won't do you any good. Chances are they won't talk to you as you aren't the account holder.
     
  11. josielinnea macrumors regular

    josielinnea

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Location:
    Stockholm
    #11
    There's nothing saying that TS isn't the account holder of the SIM he's using. He just said that he's not the account holder of the original SIM it was purchased with.


    That is of course, to get rid of the PUK-code message. He still won't be able to use the phone until ultrasn0w because it won't be unlocked for use with any provider. But if he calls AT&T or whatever he's using, he can get the PUK-code and will be able to use the SIM + account in any other phone in the meanwhile.
     
  12. RandomKamikaze macrumors 6502a

    RandomKamikaze

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    Yeh, you are right, I just re-read everything.

    By the sounds of it, there is only one SIM and an iPhone locked to Swisscom

    Ultrasn0w is what is needed, unless the OP just wants to run PwangeTool and hacktivate for a bit and use just wi-fi until Ultrasn0w is released
     

Share This Page