Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

nananee

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 4, 2010
Hi all,

I am extremely new to iPhone development and I was assigned the 'easy' task of creating a pulsating color background. Basically, I need the screen to pulsate different colors. I understand the logic behind it - I need a timer that changes the color every second, and I need to generate random colors to assign the background to. This is what I have so far..

UIColorRandom.h
Code:
#import <Foundation/Foundation.h>
#import <UIKit/UIkit.h> 

@interface UIColorRandom {
}
+(UIColor *)randomColor;

@end
UIColorRandom.m
Code:
#import "UIColorRandom.h"

@implementation UIColorRandom
+(UIColor *)randomColor
{
	static BOOL seeded = NO; // tells us if it is the first time through this method
	if (!seeded) {	// after seeding has been done 
		seeded = YES; // seeded will change to YES so that it states it is not the first time 
		srandom(time(NULL)); 
	}

{		
		// generate random floats for rgb to make random colors values from 0.0 - 1.0
		CGFloat red = (CGFloat)random()/(CGFloat)RAND_MAX; 
		CGFloat blue = (CGFloat)random()/(CGFloat)RAND_MAX;
		CGFloat green = (CGFloat)random()/(CGFloat)RAND_MAX;
		return[UIColor colorWithRed:red green:green blue:blue alpha:1.0];
	}	
}
@end
ColorPulseViewController.m
Code:
#import "ColorPulseViewController.h"
#import "UIColorRandom.h"

@implementation ColorPulseViewController
-(void)loadView
{
[NSTimer scheduledTimerWithTimeInterval:1
		 target:self 
		 selector:@selector(pulseColor) 
		 userInfo:nil 
		 repeats:YES];
}

-(void)pulseColor 
{
	UIColor *randColor = [UIColorRandom randomColor];
	self.view.backgroundColor = randColor; 
}
I don't get any error/warning messages during the build but it continues to crash.. this is the message that I get in the debugger window.

2010-10-04 14:23:45.976 ColorPulse[15819:207] ******* Accessibility Status Changed: On