Pulsing graphics when gaming

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by dubhe, May 14, 2009.

  1. dubhe macrumors 65816

    dubhe

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Location:
    Norwich, UK
    #1
    I apologise if this is a regular question, I didn't really know what to search for... I play occasional games on my Mac mini, and I used to do the same on my MacBook Air, both running the 9400M graphics with 256MB VRAM.

    Ok, when playing ToCA, Colin McRae or even OSX SkyFighters when going fast the graphics seem to alternate in speed, for example, in one of the racing games the car will show an indicated 100 mph but the graphics will appear to be doing something like 100 mph, then 30 mph, then 100 mph, then 30 mph. The same when in a fast roll in SkyFighters, the clouds will move quickly, then slowly, then quickly, then slowly.

    Is this a limitation of the 9400M?

    My set up is 2.0 Ghz, 4 GB RAM, 9400M Graphics and using a 15" LCD display.

    Thanks in advance,
     
  2. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #2
    Do you mean you have low FPS?

    I don't get it from the way you described the situation... ><
     
  3. Riverbird macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    #3
    It sounds like the framerates are dipping to me. Maybe try turning the games graphics down a little more? I'm really not sure. Sorry ><
     
  4. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #4
    Off-topic: you might want to change the "15" Aluminium MacBook Pro" in you sig to either "15" Unibody MacBook Pro" or "15" Classic MacBook Pro", because every MBP ever released was aluminium ^^

    Sorry
     
  5. dubhe thread starter macrumors 65816

    dubhe

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Location:
    Norwich, UK
    #5
    Thanks, yes it could be the FPS dipping, I will try turning it down.
     
  6. edddeduck macrumors 68020

    edddeduck

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #6
    Looks to me that your graphics card is hitting a memory limit and having to page every once in a while. If you turn everything to minimum does it still happen?

    If it does contact our support guys and we will try to reproduce it here.

    Cheers,

    Edwin

    Feral Interactive
     

Share This Page