Purchasing a G4 [ animation student ]

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Omoi, Feb 18, 2008.

1. Omoi macrumors newbie

Hello Everyone. :)

I just registered to this forum but I have been having this die hard question stuck in my head for the past few days.

Now Ive been using mostly PC's for the last 10 years, not to happy with it though mind you. I want to switch to mac but there are a few problems.

I currently live in Turkey, and apple merchandise are twice as expensive, I have no chance of getting something from outside the country.

The new Macbook Pro's are really expensive here. The thing is I am currently studying 2d and 3d aniamtion in University. I need a machine that will allow me to use Maya. After some research I found out that the latest maya [v8. and 2008] isnt G4 friendly, but I shouldnt be having problems using Maya 7. But Im not sure if taking a step back is a good idea either.

I noticed that the G4 powerbooks are now pretty cheap in Turkey, almost something I can afford. Is it worth it ?

Thanks in advanced. :)

2. Hemingray macrumors 68030

Hemingray

Assuming portability isn't a big concern, personally I would look at the G5 towers. Even an old single processor G5 would probably blow the PowerBook G4's away, and the graphics cards are no comparison.

3. Omoi thread starter macrumors newbie

Sadly portability is a deep concern, at some points I stay at one place for a long time, but often I have to move around alot. [ city to city ]

Im thinking of purchasing the 1.6 ghz, 15. inch model. Even If I dont get the G4 I have to choose a laptop.

4. airjuggernaut macrumors 6502a

Are you planning on keeping the G4 a long time?

5. Techguy172 macrumors 68000

I would try and get a older Macbook Pro the G4's are too old.

6. Omoi thread starter macrumors newbie

2 Years.

The first thing I am going to do if I pruchase the g4 is to upgrade the ram to 2gb.

7. airjuggernaut macrumors 6502a

Hmm Well dude, its tough.