purchasing iMac 27 inch buy memory separately?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by pectin232, Jan 3, 2012.

  1. pectin232 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    #1
    Is it difficult to change the base memory [4gb] of the new 27 inch imacs? buying from Apple or OWC better? Speed of memory ..... can I buy faster memory than rated ones or it does not matter?
     
  2. iMarvin macrumors 6502

    iMarvin

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Location:
    On the internet!
    #2
    Do not buy from Apple, if you want the original memories that come with the computer buy the Samsung ones from OWC. And its a very easy change. :)
     
  3. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #3
    Very easy to change memory. It's a little door on the bottom of the unit that you just unscrew to open. RAM pops right out.
     
  4. Phil A., Jan 3, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2012

    Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #4
    This can't be stressed enough: The cost of memory from Apple is absolutely horrendous compared to 3rd party providers. Personally I've always used Crucial memory and never had a problem at all with it.

    As an example, Apple want $600 to go from 4GB to 16GB on a base 27" iMac (so that's just for 12GB). 16GB of memory for that machine from Crucial will cost just $259.99 if using 8GB DIMMs (less than half the price) or just over $90 if using 4GB ones

    Upgrading the memory on the iMac is very easy: There's an access door that you unscrew then just pull on the tabs to release the old memory, slot the new memory in, push it in place and screw the cover back on
     
  5. skunk macrumors G4

    skunk

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    Republic of Ukistan
    #5
    Are you sure? I just bought 8GB from Crucial to upgrade my 27", and it was less than £35, including 20% VAT. Yours sounds very expensive.
     
  6. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #6
    Sorry, you're right - that price was for 2x8GB DIMMs which isn't a fair comparison: I've edited my original post to make that clearer. Thanks!

    4x4GB DIMMs would cost just over $90 ($45.99 for 2 DIMMs), which makes the Apple price even more outrageous (seeing as they charge $600 for 4x4GB DIMMs)

    Another way to look at it is Apple charge $150 for a 4GB DIMM and Crucial charge $22.99 for one!
     
  7. pectin232 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    #7
    Is it worth getting 32gb memory for the iMac as I thought if since the price is really low now.... should get it. Never know when the price might jump due to ....flood, fire, etc etc...like what happened in Thailand. Anyone knows of what 8gb x 4 works well for the iMac?
     
  8. Akack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    Depends on what you use the iMac for.......so what do you do with your iMac?
     
  9. xmnj macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    #9
  10. Spink10 macrumors 601

    Spink10

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #10
  11. skunk macrumors G4

    skunk

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    Republic of Ukistan
    #11
    16GB is the official maximum for the 27". Buying 32GB, while it does apparently work, would cost as much as the whole machine. 8GB modules are pretty pricey.
     
  12. pectin232 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    #12
    The price is good but that is for 8GB in 4gb configurations.... but if I want to get 32gb I need 8GB per module. I think 32gb is still high for now...unless it is cheap. I want to use it for managing huge catalog of high res photos and video editing.
     
  13. Spink10 macrumors 601

    Spink10

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #13
    Depending on what you do - 32 GB RAM helps very few people
     
  14. BasilFawlty macrumors 6502

    BasilFawlty

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #14
    Even a minkey could change it!
     
  15. DaveLicky macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    #15
    Hello all, newbie here...

    I'm guessing upgrading RAM through a non-Apple source invalidates warranty? Or is there a way to do it that can't be detected?
     
  16. skunk macrumors G4

    skunk

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    Republic of Ukistan
    #16
    You are guessing wrong. It does not.
     
  17. DaveLicky macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    #17
    Wow.

    So there really is no reason to pay Apple's extortionate RAM prices?
     
  18. skunk macrumors G4

    skunk

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    Republic of Ukistan
    #18
    Absolutely no reason at all.
     
  19. arkitect macrumors 601

    arkitect

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, United Kingdom
    #19
    None.
    The Apple RAM modules aren't even better looking or thinner ;) — just the usual Apple Tax slapped on…
     
  20. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #20
    Apple explicitly made RAM user-upgradeable on the iMac. To prevent further misconceptions:

    http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1423
     
  21. Kebabselector macrumors 68030

    Kebabselector

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #21
    For warranty reasons though always keep the original Ram and reinstall it if you have to return the Mac. (That way they can't blame your 3rd party ram for any faults)
     
  22. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #22
    That was true at the beginning of last year and no longer replies. The prices have dropped quite dramatically.
     
  23. Montague Films macrumors newbie

    Montague Films

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    #23
    Wow, this is huge to know. I plan on purchasing a 27" iMac in a couple weeks and you guys just saved me a few hundred bucks!

    So, If I buy the iMac with the 4GB of RAM, what do i need to buy from Crucial.com or another site to upgrade, 2 of the 8GB kits (4GB x 2) or 4 of the 4GB kits (2GB x 2)?

    Sorry for the noobish sounding question, but I don't want to screw this up on a $3000 machine.

    Thanks.

    Scott
     
  24. parapup macrumors 65816

    parapup

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #24
    Depends on how much total RAM you want. If you buy the single 2x4GB kit which is cheap - you can pair it with the stock 2x2GB for a total of 12GB which is plenty for most people. The iMac has total 4 RAM slots of which 2 are occupied - it can officially support up to 16GB RAM with 4x4GB sticks. Unofficially that can be 4x8GB = 32GB.
     
  25. Montague Films macrumors newbie

    Montague Films

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    #25
    Great, thank you for the quick response, I appreciate it.
     

Share This Page