purchasing new mba!!

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by danielveeee, Mar 6, 2011.

  1. danielveeee macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    #1
    hi guys,

    i finally found a buyer for my 15 mbp, so ill be getting the new mba..
    i have a few days to decide 11 or 13 lol...
    but a few quick questions, since i have to sell my computer before i get the new one, how do i transfer everything? whats the best way.

    im thinking using an external drive back up using time machine, then just plug it into the new machine?
    will this transfer my apps too?

    thanks for any answers.

    also feel free to suggest a comment on 13 vs 11,
    i dont do much but word, excel, youtube, online hw, itunes etc.
     
  2. leftywamumonkey macrumors 6502a

    leftywamumonkey

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    California
  3. danielveeee thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    #3
    yea but i use it maybe two or three times a month, just to make a quick graph for my bio lab.
    also even on my mbp 15 i dont like to keep more than an app or two open at a time, so im thinking 11 will be fine. i dont wanna get into another 2gb vs 4gb thread, but im thinking i might just save money and get 2gb and save waiting time for bto.. (how long does it usually take to ship to states?)

    thanks!
     
  4. Boston007 macrumors 6502

    Boston007

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    #4
    13

    Going from the 15 to 11 you will notice the lost real estate immediately.

    Get the 13.
     
  5. stockscalper macrumors 6502a

    stockscalper

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Location:
    Area 51
    #5
    The 13. Same screen space as the 15 plus more power under the hood.
     
  6. ECUpirate44 macrumors 603

    ECUpirate44

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Location:
    NC
    #6
    As far as transferring data, just use migration assistant when you boot to transfer everything.
     
  7. danielveeee thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    #7
    For migration assistant don't I have to have both computers? As I said I have to sell my computer first before I get the new one
     
  8. shstiger2009 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    #8
    Backup to an external drive and then use migration assistant.
     
  9. danielveeee thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    #9
    Backup using time machine Though right? :)
    Thank you!
     

Share This Page