Purple Ra1n causing crash....what to do

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by lionheartednyhc, Jul 18, 2009.

  1. lionheartednyhc macrumors 65816

    lionheartednyhc

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    #1
    This happened a few days ago, and I thought I had the issue resolved but apparently not...

    So I had a 16GB 3GS and jailbroke it with purplera1n, twice. Both times worked flawlessly.

    I decided to upgrade to the 32GB and tried to jb it. Every time I "made it ra1n", it would seem to work and then it would freeze with the picture of the USB plug and the Itunes logo on the iphone screen. (restoring in DFU mode was the only way to resolve it). After 4 or 5 attempts at jailbreaking, it finally took. Today, it froze again with the USB/Itunes picture.

    What could cause this? I know someone will say to just restore/rejailbreak, which is why I am posting this. I would like to do that, but I want to know what would cause this issue so I don't have to go through it again.


    Sorry for the long post. All help is greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    Try using Redsnow, maybe it will work better.
     
  3. lionheartednyhc thread starter macrumors 65816

    lionheartednyhc

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    #3
    I actually tried that and for some reason Redsn0w kept crashing on my comp, which is why I tried purple ra1n again. Apparently my new phone doesn't want to be JB :(

    I just can't figure out why it worked so well with my other phone, and this one wont take.
     
  4. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #4
    I've had a couple crashes a day, but the neat thing is the theme returns to my current theme package and I have to move only two or three icons to the next page....:cool::cool::cool:
     
  5. lionheartednyhc thread starter macrumors 65816

    lionheartednyhc

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    #5
    The problem is, when it crashed today each time I would reset it, it would go straight back to the USB/Itunes picture. Scared the crap out of me, because I needed my phone. After the 4th time or so it finally started up.

    Im desperate for an answer :confused:
     
  6. TapOut macrumors regular

    TapOut

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Location:
    Erie, PA
    #6
    ok you NEVER had to restore..all you had to do is unplug the phone then plug it back in.. hit make it rain again and it will work
     
  7. lionheartednyhc thread starter macrumors 65816

    lionheartednyhc

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    #7
    Yeah, I did. I tried that, and nothing would happen. It would just stay there.

    Anyone? I will gladly donate a few dollars to anyone who can solve my problem. Its killing me!
     
  8. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #8
    Which firmware are you working with? Hopefully 3.0, and not the 3.1 beta 1,2...:confused::confused::confused:
     

Share This Page