PUSH contacts to mobilme from iPhone?

Discussion in 'Apple Music, Apple Pay, iCloud, Apple Services' started by NStocks, Jul 19, 2009.

  1. NStocks macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #1
    I have just got the mobileme trial, and I have a iPhone. Can I push my contacts directly to mobileme without physically syncing it via iTunes or connecting it to a computer at all ?

    Thank You
     
  2. UngratefulNinja macrumors 68000

    UngratefulNinja

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #2
    Yes. The changes you make on your phone push to mobileme. The next time your computer syncs with mobileme, the changes will be pushed to your computer :)
     
  3. NStocks thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #3
    I have no contacts on mobileme, they are just on my iPhone. The Mac I used to sync the iPhone is away for repair.

    From the iPhone, over the web : Can I Push the contacts directly to the cloud that currently is empty as it has just been set up. Where is the option in contacts on iPhone to ' upload to mobileme ' ?
     
  4. paulsalter macrumors 68000

    paulsalter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Its under settings --> mail, contacts & calendar

    If you add your MM account in there it should sync
     
  5. NStocks thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #5
    Under that, I have :

    Account Info

    Mail On/Off
    Contacts On/Off
    Calanders On/Off
    Bookmarks On/Off

    Find My iPhone On/Off

    Delete Account.

    I can't see Sync anywhere :confused:
     
  6. paulsalter macrumors 68000

    paulsalter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Thats the syncing options, doesnt actually say sync

    try toggling the contacts one off, it should give you a message saying you are turning syncing off and what do you want to do with contacts on the phone
     
  7. NStocks thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #7
    If I toggle the On/Off, it says :

    Keep on my iPhone
    Delete from my iPhone
    Cancel

    Nothing else has synced to mobileme


    Just to make sure we are on the same lines, I'm not connected to the computer at all, I'm trying to do all this over the air.
     
  8. paulsalter macrumors 68000

    paulsalter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    Yep, sounds like we are on the same screen

    When you toggle it off the message you are getting is asking

    I am going to stop syncing with MM do you want to keep contacts locally on phone
    I am going to stop syncing with MM do you want to delete the contacts on the phone

    Does anything happen if you add a contact onto the phone, does it get to the MM website ? (or the other way round)

    EDIT:Check under settings -> mail -> Push, make sure mm is set to push
     
  9. NStocks thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #9
    If I add a new contact on the iPhone, it does send it to mobileme...

    EDIT: Is there a way that I can save my contacts to the SIM, like you could with old phones ?
     
  10. ntrigue macrumors 68040

    ntrigue

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    #10
    You have to adjust your Push/Fetch settings.

    When in Mail, Contacts, Calendars below your MobileMe account is an option to Fetch New Data. Make sure that Push is toggled on.
     
  11. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #11
    Contacts that are already on your phone will not be pushed up to MobileMe, unless they are added after you turn on MobileMe. For every previously added contact you have to sync it with a computer, then sync that computer with MobileMe.

    You would think Apple wouldn't be so moronic about this...
     
  12. NStocks thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #12
    Is there any easier way of doing this I.e can I copy a whole contact and paste it ?

    Do you know of a app to copy contacts to sim, seems apple doesn't like this either ...
     

Share This Page