Push Notification question?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Toby Goodbar, Aug 4, 2010.

  1. Toby Goodbar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    #1
    ok, in order for push notification to work, i understand there needs to be an active internet connection either through wifi or carrier.

    BUT, if lets say, there is no wifi and the carrier signal is out of range temporarily for whatever reason. bad coverage, reboot/phone off, etc, will the push notifications be completely missed or will you receive them after the fact the way you would an SMS?
     
  2. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #2
    Once you re-connect to a cellular signal or Wi-Fi network, you'll receive the push notifications you missed.
     
  3. Toby Goodbar thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    #3
    This is what i thought. Currently i only use push notifications with Youmail. if i dont have signal i don't get a push from youmail untill someone leaves a voicemail while i have signal. it doesn't seem to "update" once i get back in range. i didn't know if this was normal for push, or a problem with youmail....

    BTW, i'm on a 3GS running 4.0 just in case anyone reading this is interested
     
  4. moussekateer macrumors 6502a

    moussekateer

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    #4
    I'm having the same problem. If I receive any push notifications while I have no internet access they never arrive even when I get back internet. I'm pretty sure this isn't what it was like on 3.1.3. I'm running 4.0.1 iPhone 4
     
  5. Toby Goodbar thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    #5
    are you stock, jailbroken, unlocked, attt sim activated, hacktivated?


    mine is jb, unlocked on Tmo, att sim activated.
     
  6. moussekateer macrumors 6502a

    moussekateer

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    #6
    I'm jailbroken, no unlock, normal activation. This is really bugging me so I'm going to restore my phone to stock and see what the problem is. I'll report back
     
  7. moussekateer macrumors 6502a

    moussekateer

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    #7
    I can confirm this is the same behaviour on stock 4.0.1. Which is frustrating because I'm 99% sure this isn't how it was on 3.x.
     
  8. Toby Goodbar thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    #8
    i have that same feeling. i remember when i used to use IM apps on my phone that if i went out of range they would "update / catch up" to me when i had carrier net or wifi range again.

    maybe this is another bug?
     
  9. moussekateer macrumors 6502a

    moussekateer

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    #9
    Well I've just checked on my 3.1.3 3G and the notifications DO come in after regaining signal/switching notifications back on. So it looks likely that it's a bug with 4.x. Gonna fire off an email to Apple and ask
     
  10. zhenya macrumors 603

    zhenya

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    #10
    Push notifications are showing up for me after re-connection on 4.01 iPhone 4g, so it's not universal.
     
  11. moussekateer macrumors 6502a

    moussekateer

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    #11
    That's odd because I've gone back to stock 4.0.1 and the problem still persists. I can't see it being a hardware problem so what's going on....
     
  12. Toby Goodbar thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    #12

    JB'd? carrier? which push apps are you using?

    i would definately say its not a hardware problem. which push apps are you using?

    its IS odd.
     
  13. moussekateer macrumors 6502a

    moussekateer

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    #13
    I've got a few. I've tested with Beejive, Facebook and pushme.to by sending myself messages. Any that I send while I have no reception/notifications are off I never receive. I've tried literally everything, messing around with all the setting s to pinpoint the problem, even going back to stock and setting the phone up as new but the problem continues.
     
  14. zhenya macrumors 603

    zhenya

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    #14
    Stock, AT&T, presently roaming internationally, so mostly using wifi. Push apps include Beejive and Skype.
     
  15. poohbear19 macrumors regular

    poohbear19

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    FL, USA
    #15
    omg how do you get your push to work on tmobile?!?!?
     
  16. MaxBurn macrumors 65816

    MaxBurn

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    #16
    I think the key is the "att sim activated" portion you quoted. From what I read hactivation has problems.
     
  17. Toby Goodbar thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    #17
    get push doctor from cydia
     
  18. applefanDrew macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #18
    Or if you want an Apple product to work like it's supposed to, don't jailbreak it and use it the way it is intended to be used.
     
  19. Toby Goodbar thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    #19
    your comment is completely un-constructive as well as uncalled for. not everyone can afford to pay ATT $120/month plus taxes over 2 years and others have better things to spend it on or believe in saving it. Nor is it required that they do so, since its been ruled iphones can be legally jailbroken.
     
  20. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #20
    Thats the important part above^
    And sometimes push notifications are not always dependable and they dont always go thru even with valid AT&T sims.
     
  21. applefanDrew macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #21
    yea. I pay $75/month with 2gb data and 1500 messaging.

    Plus my point is, if you use a company's product in a way they don't intend, then it may not work correctly and you should not be surprised or upset over it.
     
  22. Pinkstiletto66 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Location:
    New York City.
    #22
    My push doesnt always come through (using wifi.) Sometimes I just happen to go into the app, and boom, theres a new message. I get no notification, no "bloop bloop" sound.. What can I do? TX!!!
     
  23. applefanDrew macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #23
    Overall, push notifications are unreliable. Perhaps Apple will make it better with iOS 5 somehow?
     
  24. qzilver macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    #24
    does anyone know if push notification still uses up battery if there is no internet connection available either through wifi or 3g. Also I sometimes turn notifications off and then when I turn it back on say in the morning I get push notifications does that mean push is still running on the server side even when I have it set to off on my iphone which means I will get all the notifications I missed after i turn back my push back on?
     
  25. calvy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #25
    push notifications aren't reliable at all. I'm currently at my parents house, where they get signal via a 3G microcell because they live way out in the country and can't get a good signal without one. Anyway, push notifications don't seem to work worth a damn when I'm on the 3G microcell, even with wifi on. And they only partially work when I'm at my own home with perfect 3G reception and wifi on.

    This experience is both jailbroken and nonjailbroken, both on valid AT&T accounts.
     

Share This Page