Put 2011 mini in 2010 case? (also buying advice)

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by heliocentric, Aug 30, 2011.

  1. heliocentric, Aug 30, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2011

    heliocentric Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    #1
    Is it possible?

    Just so I can add a superdrive :)

    Thanks
     
  2. Rapscallion macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
  3. heliocentric thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    #3
    If their is no reason why it isn't possible I would try...

    Has no one done this then?
     
  4. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #4
    I would have thought there is no option to connect the SuperDrive to the logic board in the 2011 Mini. Technically I doubt it would work. I'm sure there has been at least one thread discussing this already and the conclusion was it couldn't be done.
     
  5. heliocentric thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    #5
    Thats a shame wanted to get a mini but without a SuperDrive I'm not to sure...

    Also is the server worth the extra money over the high end normal mini?

    Thanks
     
  6. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #6
    It's not like you can't use an external drive. Even the one for the MacBook Air will work.

    The server is worth the money if that's what you need. It had a quad core 2.0 i7 but it has an integrated Intel GPU instead of the discrete AMD Radeon one. In other words it's a trade off and it depends whether a faster CPU or a more powerful GPU is more important to you. This will depend on what you plan on using it for.
     
  7. lilsoccakid74 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #7
    you can always get an external.

    if you need the cpu spec bump, yes.
     
  8. heliocentric thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    #8
    Is the 6630 a lot better than the intel one then?

    Going to use for handbrake, music production, htpc and gaming

    Thanks

    P.s. Was going to get a mini from 2010 on eBay but realised I have been using apple computers with 2.4 c2d ever since my first MacBook in 2007, moving onto MacBook pro 2009 and unibody MacBook 2010 ! Always the same processor, maybe time to experience something new?
     
  9. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #9
    I would say for ...

    Handbrake - the quad core.

    HTPC - any of the models

    Gaming - casual any of the models.
    regular/playing top spec games the discrete GPU model is better.
    that said even the discrete GPU will struggle with some current and
    most future games.

    Music production - not sure.
     
  10. MadDragon1846 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    #10
    For gaming, the hd 6630m seems alot better. This link shows double the fps compared to the hd 3000.

    http://www.barefeats.com/mini11_01.html

    Iv ordered the mini with the hd 6630 and the 2.7 i7, i cant wait! :D (also got 8gb of ram on the way too :))
     
  11. heliocentric, Aug 30, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2011

    heliocentric thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    #11
    Isn't the iMac better value in that case? Unwound get s lot more for your money. I'm still torn between the 2...
     
  12. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #12
    The iMac is certainly a better option overall and certainly for gaming. If you are fine with the built in glossy screen then you might want to consider that. Bear in mind with the iMac when it comes to upgrading you have to upgrade the whole thing including the display. With the Mac Mini you just need to upgrade the box.
     
  13. MadDragon1846, Aug 30, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2011

    MadDragon1846 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    #13
    It really depends if you prefer having the screen etc built in.

    I have a nice monitor (that matches my tv, yay! Lol). I already have a apple wireless keyboard (that i use on my pc atm), and i have a razor mamba mouse (which is kickass!). :D

    Also I know apple products are usually great quality. But i just feel the more things built in, the more chance something will go wrong...

    Also I havent owned a imac, but i hear upgrading the hdd on those is a nightmare, while on the mini its reasonably simple. I aint sure about the ram situation on imacs, but you cant get much easier on a mac mini! :)

    So yeah, if you havent got a nice screen, keyboard, and mouse already, and you dont plan on upgrading parts in it, then maybe a imac is for you. Beings i have those, the mini is fine for me. :D

    Im also planning on getting a ssd at some point, 1 of the 120gb for around £130. And itll be alot easier task to upgrade on the mini than the imac.

    *edit*
    I just watched a video of someone upgrading a hdd on a imac. It looked well scary! :eek: yeah, if you are planning on upgrading the hdd at a later date, the imac isnt very friendly lol.

    Heres a link http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2YsCTNVEYt8 its for a imac 2008 i think. I dunno how different the latest imac is for upgrading.
     
  14. heliocentric thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    #14
    I have no keyboard, mouse or screen. Just don't fancy the idea of having everything built into one. Although iMacs do look great!

    If the mac mini had a SuperDrive I prob would of got it by now...

    Can you fit 2 hard drive in any of the new mac minis and not just the server one?

    Thanks
     
  15. mdgm macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    #15
  16. MadDragon1846 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    #16
    Yep, the kit mdgm mentions from ifixit will work if you want a second internal hdd. I personally will go for something like mentioned in this thread http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1221128 I prefer external drives for the ease of being able to swap the drives.

    As for the superdrive, ill just get a seperate 1 to plug in when needed.

    I hardly ever use my dvd drive on my pc (mainly only for installing games or ripping the odd film). So ill just have a superdrive hidden away in my desk, and just get it out when needed.
     
  17. elektrobug, Aug 31, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2011

    elektrobug macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    #17
    I tried this and can confirm its a no go. I wanted to keep the superdrive as well. when I tried with the 2011 i5 2.5 motherboard, it did not fit into the 2010 chasis. The connectors are all okay, the problem is there are capacitors that are sticking out of the motherboard where the optical drive space is. I was not able to insert the motherboard, no space.
     
  18. heliocentric thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    #18
    Can you use the server model just as your home computer?

    Is their much difference in the CPUs on the top end model and the server model? I.e. Is it worth sacrificing the the discrete gpu and the extra money?
     
  19. shortcut3d, Aug 31, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2011

    shortcut3d macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    #19
    Upgrading the drives on an iMac is not that bad if you have the proper tools. The proper install of a SSD w/ pressure wall mount is time consuming because you have to take out everything, but the main HDD, DVD and make shift SSD is simple, just have to be careful with the screen. I had to get my wife's help putting the glass panel over the LCD so she could constantly blow air between the LCD and glass as it lowered. By far dust was the most difficult part to contend with.

    The server Mac Mini is the third or fourth fastest SB Mac on Geekbench. So yes it's a big difference.

    The server model can be used as a desktop. Lion is the same OS for both now. The server components are just apps. If you don't configure them then they are not in use.

    I would go for the CPU because the AMD GPU is still weak. If you want a gaming machine try an iMac or Mac Pro. Even higher end MBP will seriously out perform the Mini with discrete graphics.
     
  20. tbayrgs macrumors 603

    tbayrgs

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #20
    Sure, you can just turn off the Server app functions.

    If you plan on using CPU intensive programs, you'll see pretty significant performance improvements upgrading from the 2.7 GHz i7 to the quad core server model (about 25-30 % increase in CPU output, based upon Geekbench scores for the two models). I went this route as I do a lot of encoding with Handbrake, no gaming, and don't use many programs that would benefit greatly from the dedicated GPU in the top end non-server model.

    Conversely, if you do plan on gaming and using other programs that would benefit from the GPU upgrade (not sure myself, maybe programs like CS5, FCP, Autocad), sacrificing some raw CPU grunt for the benefits of the dedicated GPU would probably make more sense--and the top end non-server model still is no slouch CPU wise.
     
  21. Rapscallion macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    #21
    This is sad news but at least now I know it wont work. Thanks for the post
     
  22. MadDragon1846 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    #22
    Dust is so damn annoying! :mad:, Iv put screen protectors on my ipad 2, ipod touch, my mums ipod touch, my 3ds, and whatever I try, a spec or 2 of dust always gets under them! :(

    Even going in the bathroom after a shower so the steam can take the dust out the air, didnt stop the dreadded dust lol. Luckly the dust is only at the edge of the protectors, so they dont affect what im looking at, but its still annoying knowing its there. Xo

    Anyway, my 8gb of crucial ram turned up today! :D still waiting for the mini to turn up though... :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page